Texas Tech University

Texas Tech Archivists to be Recognized with 2023 Archival Awards

Glenys Young

October 11, 2023

Robert Weaver and Monte Monroe will be honored by the Texas Historical Records Advisory Board.

Robert Weaver
Robert Weaver

WHAT:  Texas Tech University's Robert Weaver and Monte L. Monroe, Ph.D., will receive 2023 Archival Awards from the Texas Historical Records Advisory Board, the state's highest recognition for the archival profession.

WHEN:  9 a.m. Friday (Oct. 13)

WHERESouthwest Collection/Special Collections Library, Formby Room

EVENT:  The Texas Historical Records Advisory Board serves as an advisory body for historical records planning and supports efforts to preserve and provide access to archival collections throughout the state. Each year, it presents three Archival Awards – two of those for 2023 will go to faculty archivists in the Southwest Collection archive, part of the Southwest Collection/Special Collections Library at Texas Tech.

Monte L. Monroe, Ph.D.
Monte L. Monroe, Ph.D.

Weaver is the recipient of the 2023 Archival Award of Excellence (Individual), which recognizes significant achievements in preserving and improving access to historical records in any format.

Monroe is receiving the David B. Gracy II Award for Distinguished Archival Service, which recognizes an individual or organization that has provided outstanding leadership, service and/or contributions to the archival profession in Texas.


CONTACT:  Julie Barnett
Director, Communications & Marketing, Texas Tech University Libraries, Texas Tech University
(806) 834-0718