Texas Tech University

Students to Participate in Spring 2023 Commencement

Lucy Greenberg

May 12, 2023

Texas Tech will hold its spring commencement ceremonies May 12-13.

Texas Tech University will host spring commencement ceremonies on Friday (May 12) and Saturday (May 13). The ceremonies will have new additions such as updated regalia and other features in honor of the university's centennial. 

Ceremonies can be viewed online via livestream

Each ceremony will be held at United Supermarkets Arena, 1701 Indiana Ave. The schedule is as follows: 

11 a.m. Friday (May 12)

3 p.m. Friday (May 12)

6:30 pm. Friday (May 12)

9 a.m. Saturday (May 13)

1 p.m. Saturday (May 13)

The Clear Bag Policy is in effect for all commencement ceremonies. For more information about commencement, including maps and parking, visit the commencement website.

Commencement Speakers

  • Friday (May 12) – Marsha Sharp, Head Coach Emerita Texas Tech University
  • Saturday (May 13) – Edward E. Whitacre Jr., Retired Chairman & CEO, AT&T and General Motors Company

Banner Bearers

Outstanding students, chosen based on their all-around achievement, will carry banners representing their colleges. The banner bearers are:

  • College of Arts & Sciences: Kendyl Addington, psychology
  • Davis College: Joseph Rosenwinkel, landscape architecture
  • Huckabee College of Architecture: Jiwon Chung, architecture
  • Rawls College of Business: Parker Adzema, information technology
  • College of Education: Michelle Hansen, education
  • Edward E. Whitacre Jr. College of Engineering: Mary Roccaforte, mechanical engineering
  • Honors College
    • 11 a.m. Friday: Isaac Griffin, chemistry and general studies
    • 3 p.m. Friday: Eberechukwu Nwachukwu, accounting
    • 9 a.m. Saturday: José Conde Sierra, honors sciences and humanities
    • 1 p.m. Saturday: Brylie Corelis, electrical engineering
  • College of Human Science: Andrea Lara, nutrition
  • College of Media & Communication: Charlotte Notzon, advertising
  • J.T. & Margaret Talkington College of Visual & Performing Arts: Joryhebel Ginorio, theatre arts
  • Graduate School: Michael T. Wintemute, media and communication
  • University Programs: Laine Brunetto, university studies