Texas Tech University

Chancellor's Council Distinguished Teaching & Research Awardees Announced

Allen Ramsey

February 17, 2023

Six Texas Tech University faculty members have been announced as recipients of the 2023 Chancellor’s Council Distinguished Teaching and Research awards.

Six Texas Tech University professors were named 2023 Chancellor's Council Distinguished Teaching and Research award winners during a ceremony Friday morning. 

The Chancellor's Council Distinguished Teaching and Research awards recognize academic excellence across the Texas Tech University System (TTU System). The honors are the most prestigious awards granted to faculty across the TTU System. 

Group Photo
President Schovanec and Chancellor Mitchell with the honorees.

“These awards recognize the best of the best, and I am extremely honored to recognize our world-class faculty across the Texas Tech University System,” said Tedd L. Mitchell, M.D., chancellor of the TTU System. “Our award recipients have ascended to the top of their areas of study and are leading experts at providing students with an unrivaled educational experience. I congratulate each of our esteemed faculty receiving this year's teaching and research awards.”  

Two Texas Tech faculty members received Distinguished Teaching awards while four others were honored with Distinguished Research awards. 

DeLeith Duke Gossett, the Jack F Maddox Professor of Law at the School of Law, and Sam Jackson, a professor in the Davis College of Agricultural Sciences & Natural Resources, were both named Distinguished Teaching award winners. 

Winners of the Distinguished Research award include Edward E. Whitacre Jr. College of Engineering associate professor Weilong Cong, Davis College associate professor Nathaniel Hall, J.T. & Margaret Talkington College of Visual & Performing Arts associate professor Mallory Prucha, and Alexander William Salter, the Georgie G. Snyder Associate Professor of Economics in the Jerry S. Rawls College of Business

“Those being honored have distinguished themselves among their peers as outstanding educators and scholars,” said Texas Tech President Lawrence Schovanec. “We are proud of their leadership also recognize that the accomplishments of these faculty really reflect on the excellence of all of our faculty.”

Chancellor's Council Distinguished Teaching and Research award recipients receive a $5,000 stipend and an engraved medallion. 

The awards are funded by gifts to the Chancellor's Council, a giving society that supports the chancellor's priorities across the TTU System. Since the honors were established in 2001, 233 faculty have received awards totaling nearly $1.4 million.