Texas Tech University

Nobel Prize Recipients Headline Free Market Institute Lecture Series

George Watson

January 25, 2023

The speakers are part of the Institute’s 10th Anniversary celebration.


A pair of Nobel Prize economists will headline the Distinguished Public Speaker Series to celebrate the 10th anniversary of the Free Market Institute at Texas Tech University.

Vernon L. Smith, the George L. Argyros Endowed Chair in Finance and Economics at Chapman University, will speak on campus Jan. 30. He won the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences in 2002 and will speak at the McKenzie-Merket Alumni Center Ballroom at 5:30 p.m. A book signing prior to the event is scheduled for 4:45 p.m.

Finn Kydland, the Henley Professor of Economics at the University of California-Santa Barbara, will speak on campus March 28. He was awarded the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences in 2004 and will speak from the Red Raider Ballroom at the Student Union Building at 5:30 p.m.

“The Texas Tech and the Lubbock communities have shown great enthusiasm while attending the institute's public lectures over the last 10 years,” said Benjamin Powell, executive director of the Free Market Institute. “It's a great honor to be able to have professors Smith and Kydland keynote our anniversary lectures. They are two of the greatest minds in economics, and I'm sure our community will enjoy hearing from them.”  

Both events are free and open to the public. For more information on both speakers and other events, go to the Free Market Institute's events page.