Texas Tech University

TTU K-12 High School Earns Purple Star Campus Designation for Military Families

Lucy Greenberg

September 14, 2021

Purple Star

Purple Star campuses go above and beyond for students from military families.

Texas Tech University High School, part of TTU-K12, housed within Texas Tech University's eLearning & Academic Partnerships division, has been designated a Purple Star Campus by the Texas Education Agency. The Purple Star Campus designation recognizes Texas school districts and open-enrollment charter school campuses that show support and commitment to meeting the unique needs of military-connected students and their families. 

Texas Tech High School is the only newly designated school this year for the Region 17 Education Service Center which serves 57 school districts and six charter schools in 20 counties in West Texas. 

“We are very excited about the Purple Star designation,” said Cari Moye, TTU K-12 principal. “We know military families endure so much, and we want them to know we support them. We believe there is value in taking your school with you, wherever you are.” 

Campuses that apply for the designation must demonstrate they have met the following established criteria: 

  • Designating a campus-based military liaison
  • Creating and maintaining an easily accessible web page that includes information for military-connected students and their families
  • Implementing a campus transition program; and  
  • Offering at least one of the following initiatives:
    • A resolution showing support for military-connected students and families  
    • Participation in Month of the Military Child or Military Family Month
    • Partnership with a school liaison officer to encourage and provide opportunities for active-duty military members

Moye added the school will pursue designations for its elementary and middles schools as well.  

Applications to become a Purple Star Campus are accepted on an annual basis, and the designation lasts for two years. After the two-year period, campuses that were previously awarded the designation must re-apply.