Texas Tech University

Students to Participate in Summer 2019 Commencement

Erin Franckhauser

August 7, 2019

Schedule, top graduates and banner bearers are announced.

Texas Tech University will host summer commencement ceremonies Saturday (August 10) at the United Supermarkets Arena, located at 1701 Indiana Ave. A total of 1,578 undergraduate and graduate students will walk the stage.

"Commencement marks the culmination of our students' dedication and commitment to their education, and provides the opportunity to celebrate with them as they enter the next phase of their lives," said Lawrence Schovanec, Texas Tech president. "We are proud to have played a role in their professional and personal development and we look forward to their many contributions to our society."

Ceremonies can be viewed online via livestream.

On Saturday, the 9 a.m. ceremony features the Graduate School, the College of Agricultural Sciences & Natural Resources (CASNR), the Jerry S. Rawls College of Business, the College of Media & Communication, the College of Human Sciences, University Programs and Wind Energy.

The ceremony at 1:30 p.m. Saturday features the Graduate School, the College of Arts & Sciences, the College of Education, the Edward E. Whitacre Jr. College of Engineering, the Honors College, the J.T. & Margaret Talkington College of Visual & Performing Arts (TCVPA) and the College of Architecture.

Dr. Tedd L. Mitchell will serve as the speaker for Saturday's commencement ceremonies.

About Dr. Tedd L. Mitchell

Dr. Tedd L. Mitchell is the chancellor of the Texas Tech University System and president of the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC). He serves the system's four universities, including Texas Tech University, TTUHSC, Angelo State University and Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso as the chief executive officer.

Banner Bearers

Outstanding students, chosen based on their all-around achievement, will carry banners representing their colleges. The banner bearers are:

Honor Students

The highest-ranking spring graduates for each college/program are:

  • CASNR: Chloe Wilson, plant and soil science; Matthew Ryan Winterholler, agricultural communications
  • College of Architecture: Gilbert Gonzales, architecture
  • College of Arts & Sciences: Keith Morgan Fewell, general studies; Joseph Michael Hartman, mathematics; Merit Westfall Marshall, history; Shashidhar Sastry, psychology; Shelby Marie Skomer, sports management; Viren Jitendra; Vasandani, biology; John Kabl Wilkerson, history, political sciences and honors arts and letters
  • Rawls College: Jamie Kiyomi Slack, accounting
  • College of Education: Preston R. Teters, multidisciplinary studies; Elizabeth D. Marato, multidisciplinary studies
  • College of Engineering: Shashidhar Sastry, computer science; Kazi A. Muktadir, computer science; Justin Hong, mechanical engineering; Cole T. Bollinger, electrical engineering; Bhimsen Bhattarai, computer science; Caleb A. Darnell, computer science; Oliver Rodriguez-Ortiz, electrical engineering; Cesar Rocha, mechanical engineering; Kal D. Rogstad, mechanical engineering; Timothy R. Bushong, mechanical engineering; Zachary Eakerns, electrical engineering; Juan A. Sillero Villalon, computer science; Gunnar J. Teilmann, mechanical engineering
  • Honors College: John Kabl Wilkerson, history, political sciences and honors arts and letters
  • College of Human Sciences: Brittany Brewer, community, family and addiction sciences; Sahara Johnson, interior design; Nannette Colon Diaz, nutrition; Vy Hong Thao Nguyen, nutrition
  • College of Media & Communication: Dustin Ward, communication studies, Joseph Greiner, communication studies
  • University Programs: Madison McLellan, university studies
  • TCVPA: Adrian Javier Ito, music
  • Wind Energy: Rowland Anthony Wallerstein, wind energy

Reception Information
(Immediately following respective ceremonies)

  • College of Education: Diploma Distribution, first floor staircase

For more information about commencement, including maps and parking, visit the commencement web page.