Texas Tech University

Faculty Members Honored for Excellence in Various Areas

Randy Rosetta

November 16, 2018

Research, scholarship and creative activity are all recognized at the annual ceremony.

As Texas Tech University continues to rise in worldwide rankings, faculty research is at the heart of the mission. On Thursday (Nov. 15), President Lawrence Schovanec and Vice President for Research Joseph Heppert took time to recognize the efforts of the Texas Tech faculty at the Celebration of Faculty Excellence in Research, Scholarship and Creative Activity annual ceremony.

“Only a faculty member can understand the anxiety of working on a project or proposal and not knowing what the outcome will be,” Schovanec said, noting how vital faculty research and publishing is in the five major worldwide rankings. 

“Research output is a reflection of what all of you are doing. It's being noted here today, and beyond the personal accomplishments, it also has a tremendous impact on the students of this university.”

Heppert, a world-renowned researcher in chemistry, echoed Schovanec's praise and said it was important to recognize faculty who have made significant contributions to Texas Tech's mission.

“We're here because we don't think we have enough opportunities to say thank you for what you do,” Heppert said. “We all want to leave this place better and more nationally renowned and recognized than when we arrived, and as a faculty, we're all a part of accomplishing that.”

National/International recognition

Professional Association Awards

The Architectural League 2018 Emerging Voices Series

2018 Helen & Howard Marraro Prize in Italian History from the American Historical Association

Climate One: Stephen H. Schneider Award

S. Arch 2018 Best Completed Project Award – Residential Building

  • Ophelia Mantz, Architecture
  • Rafael Beneytez-Duran, Architecture

T2018 Distinguished Service Award, United States Chapter of the International Association for Landscape Ecology (US-IALE)

Nuclear & Plasma Sciences Society Merit Award

Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry (SETAC) Fellow and 2017 Stephen J. Klaine Environmental Education Award

Institute of Chemical Technology, Mumbai Professor WB Achwal Endowed Oration Award

  • Seshadri Ramkumar. Environmental Toxicology

Appointments, Fellowships, and Other Honors

Fulbright Specialist Award

Baruch S. Blumberg Chair in Astrobiology, Library of Congress

National Endowment for the Humanities Public Scholar Program Award

  • Costican Bradatan, Honors College

International Affairs Fellowship with the Council on Foreign Relations (CFR)

  • David Lection, Political Science

U.S. Department of Agriculture Under Secretary for Food Safety

Texas State Historian

Fellowship with the Textile Institute in the United Kingdom

  • Seshadri Ramkumar, Environmental Toxicology

Memorial Lecturer Award

  • Steve Presley, Environmental Toxicology

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring (PAESMEM)

  • Tanja Karp, Electrical and Computer Engineering

National Endowment for the Humanities Summer Stipend

  • Zachary Brittsan, History


Institute for Electrical and Electronics Engineers Fellow

  • Andreas Neuber, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Donald Lie, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Wissenschaftskolleg Berlin Faculty Fellow

Optical Society of America Fellow

  • Hongxing Jiang, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Jingyu Lin, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Fellow of The International Society for Optics and Photonics (SPIE)

  • Jingyu Lin, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry (SETAC) Fellow

  • Ron Kendall, Environmental Toxicology

Texas Tech Targeted External Faculty Awards

Core Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program Award

National Science Foundation CAREER Award

Issued Patents

Small molecule analogs of E40RF1 to control weight gain related to diabetes

Liquid oil production from shale gas condensate reservoirs

Method to introduce Salmonella into ground meat

  • Guy Loneragen with Katelyn Malin, Animal & Food Sciences

Portable apparatus for soil chemical characterization

  • David Weindorf, Plant and Soil Sciences