Texas Tech University

Engineering Professors Named AAAS Fellows

Amanda Bowman

November 27, 2018

Chau-Chyun Chen and Jingyu Lin were awarded the prestigious fellowship by the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Two professors in Texas Tech University's Edward E. Whitacre Jr. College of Engineering were named 2018 American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) fellows.

Chau-Chyun Chen
Chau-Chyun Chen

Chau-Chyun Chen, the Jack Maddox Distinguished Engineering Chair in Sustainable Energy and a professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering, was selected as part of the engineering section for his groundbreaking contributions to the development of molecular thermodynamic models for phase behavior in complex chemical systems and the practice of process modeling and simulation.

"It is a great honor to be elected as an AAAS fellow," Chen said. "Advancement of science is built on observation, insight, reasoning, passion and teamwork. I am grateful to the JF Maddox Foundation, the dean of the College of Engineering, Al Sacco Jr., and the community of scholars at Texas Tech University. I also would like to thank my loving family for their generosity and unconditional support for my pursuit to advance chemical engineering design practice with fundamental understanding in molecular phenomena."

Jingyu Lin
Jingyu Lin

Jingyu Lin, Horn Professor in the Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering, the Linda F. Whitacre Chair in Electrical and Computer Engineering and co-director of the Nanophotonics Center, also was selected as part of the engineering section for her seminal contributions to the fundamental understanding of the electronic and optical properties of the group III-nitride semiconductors and significant impact on the use of these materials for nanophotonic devices.

"I'm honored to be elected as a fellow of AAAS, particularly given the fact that AAAS is the world's largest general scientific society, and election to its fellowship reflects the recognition beyond one's own research discipline," Lin said. "I'm very grateful to my AAAS fellow colleagues in the College of Engineering, as well as to the College of Engineering and the university for their support."

Speaking of Chen and Lin, Dean Sacco said they are outstanding individuals who well-represent the quality of faculty at Texas Tech University.

Chen and Lin will be presented with an official certificate and a gold-and-blue rosette pin, which represents science and engineering, on Feb. 16 at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the 2019 AAAS annual meeting in Washington, D.C.