Texas Tech University

Senate Ag Committee hearing planned for stalled USDA nominees

Dairy Business

November 15, 2018

Dairy Business - Senate Agriculture Committee chairman Pat Roberts (R., Kan.) and ranking member Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D., Mich.) announced that the committee will hold a hearing on Nov. 28 to consider the nominations of Dr. Mindy Brashears, Naomi Earp and Scott Hutchins within the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Brashears is a professor of food safety and public health and the director of the International Center for Food Industry Excellence at Texas Tech University. Her research program focuses on improving food safety standards to make an impact on public health. Her work evaluates interventions in pre- and post-harvest environments and on the emergence of antimicrobial drug resistance in animal feeding systems. These efforts have resulted in the commercialization of a pre-harvest feed additive that can reduce Escherichia coli and salmonella in cattle.

Read the whole story here.