Texas Tech University

Three Local Leaders to Be Recognized at Annual Celebrate Diversity Banquet

David Gay

October 11, 2018

Judi Henry, Dale Scott Ridley and Thomas “T.J.” Patterson will be honored.

Diversity Banquet

Three Texas Tech University and community leaders will be recognized for their work in raising awareness for diversity and inclusion at the annual Celebrate Diversity Banquet at 7 p.m. Monday (Oct. 15) at the McKenzie-Merket Alumni Center.

Judi Henry, senior associate athletics director and senior women's administrator for the Department of Intercollegiate Athletics, and Dale Scott Ridley, dean of the Texas Tech College of Education, will receive Inclusive Excellence Awards. Former city councilman Thomas “T.J.” Patterson will receive the Sen. Robert L. Duncan Community Champion Award. Awardees are selected based upon their legacy of practice through diversity, equity and inclusion. Award recipients commit significant time to the Texas Tech and Lubbock communities through a combination of scholarly work, advocacy and community engagement.  

Texas Tech's Division of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion welcomes Republican strategist and political analyst Ana Navarro as the keynote speaker for the banquet. Navarro will speak on the importance and value of diversity.

A limited number of ticket, tables and sponsorship opportunities remain available. General tickets for the banquet are $75 and VIP tickets are $100. Tables of eight are available for $1,000, $1,500, $3,000, $5,000 and $7,500 sponsorships.

Judi Henry
Judi Henry

About Judi Henry

Judi Henry is currently the senior associate athletics director and senior women's administrator for the Department of Intercollegiate Athletics at Texas Tech. An alumna from the university, she came to Texas Tech in 1980 and has served in the Office of the Dean of Students as dean of students and assistant vice president for Student Affairs. Since moving to athletics, she has served as the supervisor for sports including volleyball, women's basketball and soccer. Henry also oversees Title IX, strength and conditioning, nutrition and the J.T. & Margaret Talkington Leadership Academy. Henry works tirelessly in support of student-athletes by ensuring they have the best environment to compete and succeed.

Scott Ridley
Scott Ridley

About Dale Scott Ridley

Dale Scott Ridley has served as the Dean of the College of Education since 2011. Under his leadership, the college has developed Tech Teach, a reformed teacher education program that has earned acclaim from school districts as well as national and international accrediting bodies. Before his career at Texas Tech, Ridley was the associate dean in the Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College at Arizona State University. As a reform leader in education, he continues to seek collaborative school-university-community college-business ventures that advance education and achievement to higher levels of excellence.

TJ Patterson
T.J. Patterson

About Thomas “T.J.” Patterson

In 1984, T.J. Patterson was the first African-American to serve on the Lubbock City Council. Patterson served as the District 2 representative for 20 years and was the longest-serving council member in the city's history. As a councilman, he participated in countless marches against drugs and violence. A Lubbock library was named in honor of Patterson and his family as well as having a Texas Tech scholarship named after them. Texas House Resolution No. 781 named Patterson an “outstanding Texan who has long distinguished his professional achievements and his many years of community leadership.”