Texas Tech University

2018 Graduate School Poster Competition Winners Announced

Amanda Bowman; Video by Weston Brooks

May 1, 2018

The competition consisted of 19 categories students could enter.

Texas Tech University's Graduate School hosted its 17th annual poster competition on April 10, and winners were announced at a luncheon on April 30. Students could enter their posters into one of 19 categories. Below are the winners and runners-up for the 2018 competition by category:

Animal and Food Sciences

  • First place: Alexander Branson
  • Runner-up: Ilan Arvelo-Yagua

Biological Sciences

  • First place: Mahsa Servati
  • Runner-up: Meijun Mail Dong


  • First place: Yun Zhou
  • Runner-up: Amal Bouyanfif

Distance Learning

  • First place: Karen Jensen
  • Runner-up: Yujiro Fujiwara


  • First place: Sipra Eko
  • Runner-up: Hyunchang Moon


  • First place: Saeed Moradi
  • Runner-up: Osman Okuyucu

Environmental Design

  • First place: Rafael Quijada and Emily Oliver
  • Runner-up: Ahmed Gheraba

Environmental Science

  • First place: Olushola Awoyemi
  • Runner-up: Ilektra Drygiannaki

Health Sciences

  • First place and best of conference: Md Jasim Uddin
  • Runner-up: Shasika Jayarathne

Human Sciences

  • First place: Kashmiere McGee
  • Runner-up: Jennifer Rose

Interdisciplinary Studies

  • First place: Bingbing Zhang
  • Runner-up: Kelley Anderson


  • First place: Ahalee Cathey
  • Runner-up: Thais Benoit

Natural Resources Management

  • First place: Niwanthi Dissanayake Ralalage
  • Runner-up: Katelyn Vedolich

Personal Financial Planning

  • First place: Hossein Salehi
  • Runner-up: Yi Liu


  • First place: Giammarco Turriziani Colonna
  • Runner-up: Kamal Lamichhane

Plant and Soil Science

  • First place: Jaspreet Kaur
  • Runner-up: Jayan Ukwatta

Political Science

  • First place: Margaret Vugrin and Danie Vaughn
  • Runner-up: James Bassett

Psychological Sciences

  • First place: Leslie Dodson
  • Runner-up: Yazmine Huizar

Visual and Performing Arts

  • First place: Oryana Racines-Smakovic
  • Runner-up: Norah Alqabbaa