Texas Tech University

EVENT: The College of Arts and Sciences at Texas Tech University will honor distinguished alumni and faculty at the 2016 Distinguished Alumni, Excellence in Research and Innovative Teaching Awards reception this week.

The ceremony will honor alumni Lauro Cavazos, former U.S. secretary of education and former Texas Tech president; Philip W. Johnson, Texas Supreme Court justice; Ginger Kerrick, NASA flight director; and Tibor P. Nagy, Jr., former U.S. ambassador to Guinea and Ethiopia. Select faculty members also will be recognized for excellence in teaching and research.

W. Brent Lindquist, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, said the true measure of a university's greatness can be found in the achievements of its alumni and faculty.

“The core values of our college, broad knowledge combined with in-depth achievement, strong intellectual and practical skills, empowers individuals and prepares them to deal with complexity, diversity and change,” Lindquist said. “As dean, I am especially proud to inaugurate the recognition of distinguished alumni for lifetime achievement and of faculty for their distinguished research and teaching.”

WHEN: 5:30-7:30 p.m. Thursday (May 5)

WHERE: The Rawls Course, 3720 4th St.

Find Texas Tech news, experts and story ideas at Texas Tech Today Media Resources or follow us on Twitter.

CONTACT: Toni Salama, senior editor, Office of the Dean, College of Arts and Sciences, Texas Tech University, (806) 834-2761 or toni.salama@ttu.edu