Texas Tech University

Texas Tech University has announced the two winners of its annual College of Architecture Alumni Advisory Council Awards. They will be honored at the College of Architecture Alumni Reception from 6-8 p.m. Thursday (Nov. 5) at the Fairmont Hotel in Dallas in conjunction with the Texas Society of Architects State Convention.

Christopher M. Huckabee

Christopher M. Huckabee, who was appointed to the Texas Tech University System Board of Regents in January, has been named the 2015 Distinguished Alumnus. Huckabee is CEO of Huckabee Architecture, Engineering and Program Management, a 185-person firm dedicated to educational design. He received his bachelor's degree in architecture in 1991 and is a registered architect in Texas, Colorado, New Mexico, Arkansas and Georgia. Huckabee also holds National Council of Architectural Registration Boards certification.

“Regent Huckabee has distinguished himself as a national expert in the design of educational facilities and masonry construction,” said College of Architecture Dean Andrew Vernooy. “He is a former member of the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, so the college looks forward to his leadership with building pathways to community colleges.”

The Distinguished Alumni Award is based on three criteria:

  • Distinguished architectural practice. Exemplary buildings and projects recognized by peer evaluation in the form of awards, publications and other citations over a period of time; contributions to the profession and professional associations; contributions to the profession in some unique way, such as new code development, structure evaluation after a natural disaster or development of youth programs.
  • Distinguished community or public service including, but not limited to, election or appointment to public office, leadership in community development, recognition of service at any level from neighborhood to national, distinction in military service, acts of significant benevolence or heroic acts.
  • Distinguished contributions to education, publication or research contributions to education, publication or documented research.
Mark E. Humphreys

Mark E. Humphreys, founder and CEO of Humphreys & Partners Architects, will receive the 2015 Kleinschmidt Award. Headquartered in Dallas, the international firm specializes in multifamily architectural services and created The Big House design concept for multifamily apartments. Humphreys, a member of the American Institute of Architects, graduated from the College of Architecture in 1978 and has established multiple scholarship endowments to benefit future Texas Tech architecture students.

“Architect Mark E. Humphreys is one of the best mixed-use residential architects in the United States with numerous award-winning projects,” Vernooy said. “He has been an active force in the college, providing a much needed business-based perspective on the profession while supporting the college's downtown studio in Lubbock, UrbanTech, and donating a chair in urban design that will make a significant contribution to graduate scholarship and research in the design of cities and communities.”

The Kleinschmidt Award was established by the Texas Tech Architecture Alumni Association to recognize individuals who have attained distinguished achievements in their careers and who, because of the special qualities of those achievements, have represented Texas Tech in an exemplary manner. The award is named after the first leader of the Texas Tech architecture program, professor Florian A. Kleinschmidt.