Texas Tech University

Texas Tech Meat Judging Team Captures Crown at American Royal Contest

George Watson

October 20, 2015

The Red Raiders narrowly edged out the University of Wyoming to take first place.

Meat Judging Team
Photo provided by:
College of Agricultural Sciences
and Natural Resources

The Texas Tech University Meat Judging team in the Department of Animal and Food Sciences continued its strong showing this fall by taking first place at the American Royal Intercollegiate Meat Judging Contest in Omaha, Nebraska.

Texas Tech captured the win by just three points over the University of Wyoming, 4,098-4,095, while Oklahoma State finished third with 4,072 points. The Red Raiders took first place in team judging in three categories – overall beef, beef judging and beef grading – while finishing second in lamb judging and reasons/questions and third place in total placing and specifications.

Individually, Cody Shannon, a senior from Royse City, finished as the top Texas Tech performer, coming in third as one of three Red Raiders to finish in the top 10. Shannon totaled 1,036 points thanks to strong showings in overall beef (first place), beef grading (second), beef judging (third) and total placing (third).

Erin Beyer, a junior from Brookshire, finished fifth overall (1,027 points) and was second in beef judging and third on overall beef while taking fifth in lamb judging. Morgan Boyer, a senior from Wallisville, was one point behind Beyer in sixth (1,026 points).

Texas Tech's alternate teams also had a strong showing, sweeping the top three spots in the alternate division. At least one of the three teams also took first place in all team judging categories but one.

Annalisa Clark, a junior from Las Cruces, New Mexico, was the top individual among alternate team members, outpacing teammate Darby Gonzales, a junior from Hondo. Erin Klein, a junior from Littlefield, and Hallie Hutto, a junior from Hondo, rounded out the top five.

Other members of the meat judging team are:

  • Clay Bendele, a junior from Hondo
  • Sean Morrow, a junior from Nolan
  • Elizabeth Burges, a senior from Graham
  • Zena Doty, a senior from La Plata, New Mexico
  • Scotta Faulkenberry, a senior from Stephenville
  • Landon French, a senior from Burleson
  • Melani Howell, a junior from Seymour
  • Kyle Lambert, a junior from Sweetwater
  • Madison Langemeier, a junior from Marion
  • Michaela Pinder, a junior from League City

Professor Mark Miller, the San Antonio Stock Show and Rodeo Distinguished Chair in Meat Sciences, coaches the team. Graduate students Bo Hutto and Dan Crownover assist.