Texas Tech University

The Hub@TTU Earns Seven Awards from Three Journalism Organizations

George Watson

May 6, 2015

The work done by the student-run online publication was recognized for several of its biggest stories from the past year.


The Hub@TTU was recently honored with seven awards from three different student publication organizations.

The Hub@TTU, a student-run multimedia publication inside the Texas Tech University College of Media and Communication, was recognized by the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association (TIPA), the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) and the College Media Association (CMA) for its work over the past year. Staff members honored include Lucinda Holt, Sarah Self-Walbrick, Alicia Keene, Abbie Arroyos, Evan Dixon, Ben Jarvis and Anibal Galindo.

“I have watched with great pride as The Hub@TTU has matured over the past two years into a world-class online journalism platform,” said Rob Peaslee, chairman of the Department of Journalism and Electronic Media. “These recognitions provide support to what we already knew: we have extremely talented and hard-working students producing incredible work under the guidance and mentorship of some dedicated and knowledgeable faculty advisers.”

The Texas Intercollegiate Press Association honored The Hub@TTU with five awards, including first place in Best Use of Mapping and honorable mention in Best Use of Data for its Sexual Health microsite. The Hub's parking series finished third in Best Use of Data while its Executive Candidate Forum coverage finished third in Best Multimedia Package. The Hub's website, ttuhub.net, earned honorable mention in Best Interactivity.

The Hub won two first place awards in the Region 8 Society of Professional Journalists' Mark of Excellence competition, including Best Independent Online Student Publication and Online Feature Reporting for “American Dream, Mexican Nightmare” by Holt and Self-Walbrick. Those stories will now advance to the national competition.

The Hub was a finalist in five categories: Best Digital-Only Student Publication; Best Use of Multimedia and Online News Reporting for “ICYMI: Executive Candidate Forum and Election Coverage” by Keene, Arroyos, Dixon and Jarvis; Online In-Depth Reporting for “The Lack of Title X Funding” by Holt, Galindo and Keene; and Online News Reporting for “ICYMI: Farewell to the Hancellor” by Keene, Self-Walbrick, Dixon and Galindo.

The Hub's West Texas Water microsite won first place in the CMA Apple Awards contest in New York City for Best Multimedia Package. Self-Walbrick was featured on the Today Show, and former Texas Tech student and current CBS anchor Scott Pelley invited Keene and Self-Walbrick to sit in on an Evening News editorial meeting.

Keene worked with Self-Walbrick and journalism professors Pete Brewton, Randy Reddick and Cam Stone, the SPJ chapter adviser, to finalize which stories were submitted for the various contests.

“It's not all about the awards,” Keene said. “They are exciting and encouraging, as they let us know we are on the right track and push us to do just that much better next time. But we love what we do, and our aim is to provide quality, informative and interesting journalism to our audience.”

Self-Walbrick said working with The Hub@TTU was her “ultimate collegiate goal,” and having the opportunity to work as the news director has been a great experience.

“I'm thankful that I've had the freedom and opportunity to report on issues I think are important that impact the Texas Tech and Lubbock community,” Self-Walbrick said. “The fact that some of my favorite stories have won awards is an incredibly humbling experience that I know I would not have gotten elsewhere.”