Texas Tech University

Texas Tech Honors College Announces 32 Terry Scholars

Heidi Toth

May 27, 2015

The university remains one of the fastest-growing Terry Scholar universities in the state.

Terry Foundation
The Houston-based scholarship program was founded to provide assistance to outstanding Texas High school graduates for attendance at public colleges and universities within the state.

Texas Tech University remains one of the fastest growing schools in the Terry Scholars history, welcoming 32 recipients from throughout Texas.

The 2015 Terry Scholars class was selected from an application pool of more than 1,000 high school seniors. Honors College assistant director Heather Medley said 64 of those students were submitted as nominees to the Terry Foundation, and the foundation then selected students who received the award.

“While we're pleased the number of Terry Scholars at Texas Tech continues to grow each year, we are also pleased that we are still able to select our scholars in the same way we always have, taking into consideration their leadership abilities and their academic promise, and that we're still able to educate them one scholar at a time,” said Jodie Koszegi, scholarship program director.

The Terry Foundation was established in 1986 by Houstonians Howard and Nancy Terry from a desire to help young people help themselves. The foundation's goal is to strengthen the state of Texas by identifying, developing and supporting Texas high school graduates with high leadership potential.

The foundation provides four-year scholarships for Texas residents attending certain universities in the state, including Texas Tech. The scholarship recipients are selected from a competitive pool of applicants who demonstrate leadership, character, scholastic ability and financial need.

The award amount varies for each scholar depending on other scholarships awarded.
Texas Tech's 2015 Terry Scholars class includes six valedictorians; the students have an average SAT score of 1285 and an average ACT score of 28.

“We anticipate this fall's entering class of Texas Tech Terry Scholars will continue to achieve and excel under Heather Medley's mentorship, and quickly become contributing members of the outstanding Terry community that Heather has been instrumental in building at Texas Tech,” Koszegi said.

The 2015 Terry Scholars class:

  • Elizabeth Andersen of Lubbock;
  • Anna Claire Beasley of Castroville;
  • Hunter Cisco of Fort Worth;
  • Gaven Cox of Maud;
  • Kylee Dacy of Wall;
  • Karishma Desai of Humble;
  • Jameson Dowell of Henrietta;
  • Krystal Garcia of Dallas;
  • Belisha Gibson of Dallas;
  • Kerry Gonyeau of Winnsboro;
  • Marcus Gonzalez of Little Elm;
  • Zachary Goodwin of Ira;
  • Haley Hargroder of Fair Oaks Ranch;
  • Jacob Howle of Idalou;
  • Brooke Johnson of Fairfield;
  • Thomas Kay of Hutto;
  • Logan Murdy of Amarillo;
  • Brittney O'Neal of Sherman;
  • Dillin Parsons of Abilene;
  • Zachary Patton of Garland;
  • Katie Ramirez of Cypress;
  • Sandra Schwartz of Comanche;
  • Garrett Scitern of Anson;
  • Tyler Seale of Navasota;
  • Kelsee Smith of Shallowater;
  • Sara Sorge of Wichita Falls;
  • Janice Thomas of Garland;
  • Lino Virgen Gracia of Hidalgo;
  • Ciera Ware of Ralls;
  • Paige Williams of Shallowater;
  • Montana Williams of Grand Prairie; and
  • Theodora “Theo” Winter of Garland.