Texas Tech University

Graduate Research Poster Winners Announced

Heidi Toth

April 28, 2015

More than 120 graduate students presented research in 45 disciplines.

The Graduate School at Texas Tech University announced the winners of its largest internal poster competition, held earlier this month at the Helen DeVitt Jones Sculpture Court at the Museum of Texas Tech University.

The 14th Annual Graduate Research Poster Competition provided an opportunity for students to present their research before they represent Texas Tech at national and international conferences. Presenters included distance students, with one student presenting via Skype from Okinawa, Japan.

“This year we had a great response, with more than 250 submissions in 45 disciplines,” event co-coordinator Anastasia Coles said. “More than 100 students presented their work to judges from Texas Tech and the Lubbock community. It was a fantastic experience for everyone involved.”

The first-place winners follow, with the title of their winning posters:

  • Agricultural Science I: Caitlin Shelinbarger, “Momentary exposure to a microfluidic environment appears to enhance embryo development”
  • Agricultural Science II: Victoria Xiong, “Digital image analysis of Old World bluestem canopy cover to predict leaf area and yield”
  • Agricultural Sciences III: Elizabeth Roesler, “Assessing habitat-use patterns and survey methodologies of the endangered snail, Pecos Assiminea, at Bitter Lake National Wildlife Refuge”
  • Distance: Sarah Martin, “Birth imagery through a cultural lens: Examining visuals in U.S. and Japanese health care brochures”
  • Education: Sevket Cetin, “Difficulties of mathematics teachers with lesson structure and pacing”
  • Engineering I: Nabiollah Kamyabi, “A microfluidic cell squeezer device for testing the invasive potential of cancer cells”
  • Engineering II: Rozbeh Moghaddam, “Reliability-based deep foundation design using the Texas cone penetrometer”
  • Engineering III: Akshaya Ramachandran, “Testing of microelectromechanical systems”
  • Engineering IV: Hasan Molla, “Novel methods of fabricating metallic Janus particles”
  • Human Sciences I: Cynthia Miller, “Career mapping: Charting a course toward increasing student ownership in college and career planning”
  • Human Sciences II: Shu Yuan, “A dyadic exploration of adult attachment, communication and relationship satisfaction”
  • Multidisciplinary I: Hamid Vahidnia, “Process of exploitations: Layers, stages, activities, supporting entities and outcomes”
  • Multidisciplinary II: Kent Lowry, “Teaching and assessing media literacy via film trailers”
  • Multidisciplinary Science: Swapneeta Date, “Toward targeted cancer therapy: Structural and functional characterization of the human proton-couple folate transporter”
  • Psychology: William Ritter, “A comparison of four indirect behavioral measures in an outpatient child sample”
  • Science I: Balapitiyage Somaweera, “Generation of concentration gradient across 256 cell culture array in microfluidic device and mathematical simulations”
  • Science II: Logeswari Ponnusamy, “Effect of acute and chronic oxidative stress on survival, growth and tumorigenicity of breast cancer cells”
  • Science III: Tara Scarborough, “The design and fabrication of novel thin films for ultra-fast optical switching”
  • Science IV: Amanda Hicks, “ETP-like toxin gene expression and toxin detection in batrachochytrium dendrobatisis”
  • Science V: Michael Rogowski, “3-iodothyronamine (T1AM) upregulates fat oxidation metabolism in adipocytes”


For a complete list of winners, go the Graduate School.