Texas Tech University

Texas Tech to Host Faculty, Student Awards Breakfast Reception Saturday

Zoe Bell

March 27, 2015

Distinguished guests include President M. Duane Nellis and wife C. Ruthie Nellis.

Bella Karr Gerlich
Bella Karr Gerlich

The Texas Tech University Parents Association is hosting a Faculty and Student Awards Breakfast Reception at 8:30 a.m. Saturday (March 28) at the International Cultural Center, 601 Indiana Ave.

The Texas Tech Parents Association recognizes and rewards students who excel in their studies and community initiatives and faculty who move Texas Tech toward excellence and are outstanding and well respected in their fields. Bella Karr Gerlich, the dean of libraries, will be the keynote speaker for this event.

Faculty Honorees:

Student Honorees:

The Spencer A. Wells Award for Creativity in Teaching was established in 1966 and honors a professor who demonstrates exceptional creativity in his/her approach to excellence in teaching, as attested to by students, faculty and administrators, by making more effective use of the university as an educational force in the lives and training of his/her students.

The Hemphill-Wells New Professor Excellence in Teaching Award was established in 1973 and honors a member of the faculty of no more than four years who has demonstrated exceptional teaching ability as attested to by his/her students, fellow faculty members and administrators.

The Barnie E. Rushing, Jr. Faculty Distinguished Research Award was established in 1976 and honors outstanding research, excellence in scholarship and creative activity.

The Faculty Distinguished Leadership Award was established in 1986 and honors a faculty member who demonstrated distinguished service on committees, boards and councils and outstanding leadership, which propels the university's pursuit of excellence.

The Student Achievement Citizenship Awards was established in 1974 and honors one student in each of the academic colleges for superior achievement in both scholarship and service to the community.

Distinguished guests attending include President M. Duane Nellis and wife, C. Ruthie Nellis; Lawrence Schovanec, provost, senior vice president of academic affairs; Robert V. Duncan, senior vice president for research; Juan Muñoz, senior vice president for Institutional Diversity, Equity and Community Engagement; Cathy Duran, associate vice provost, dean of students; Bella Karr Gerlich, dean of libraries; and Holden Westbrook, student government president.

The Texas Tech Parents Association Board of Directors include Kathy Burner, Jose Caussade, Monica Beatty, Ben Kohnle, Leigh Lowe, Steve Burres, Ronda Spraggins and Joyce Zachman.