Texas Tech University

Board of Regents Designates Three New Horn Professors

George Watson

March 6, 2015

Named for the first president of Texas Tech, the Horn Professorship is the highest honor the university can bestow upon faculty.

Paul Horn
Paul Horn

Three Texas Tech professors were designated as Horn Professors by the Texas Tech University System Board of Regents during its meeting Friday (March 6).

Guigen Li, professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry; Andreas Neuber, professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering; and Brian Shannon, professor in the School of Law, received the honor.

“We are excited to bestow the Horn Professorship on these three outstanding members of our faculty,” Texas Tech President M. Duane Nellis said. “They are an example of the outstanding effort and dedication being made by all our faculty members who strive to provide first-class education and research for Texas Tech.”

Established in 1966, the designation is named after Paul Horn, the first president of Texas Tech. The professorship recognizes scholarly achievement and outstanding service to Texas Tech. Of the 86 members recognized as Horn Professors, 32 are still on the faculty.

“This is the highest honor bestowed on our faculty and I am proud of their scholarship, leadership and education of our students,” said Lawrence Schovanec, Texas Tech Provost and Senior Vice President. “It's a reflection of their national and international reputations as scholars.”

Horn Professors
Guigen Li, Andreas Neuber and Brian Shannon

Li joined Texas Tech in 1997. His research areas are organic, medicinal and bio-organic chemistry. He earned his bachelor of science degree from Jiangsu Normal University and his master's degree from Nankai University, both in China, and his doctorate from the University of Arizona.

Neuber joined Texas Tech in 1996. He is the AT&T Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and co-director of the Center for Pulsed Power and Power Electronics. He earned his master's degree in physics and doctorate in engineering from the Technical University of Darmstadt, Germany. His research expertise is pulsed power technology and high power microwaves.

Shannon joined Texas Tech in 1988. He is the Charles “Tex” Thornton Professor of Law and the university's faculty athletics representative (FAR) to the NCAA and Big 12 Conference as well as the Big 12 representative to the 1A FAR Board of Directors, where he recently was elected to a second term as president.  He is an expert in law pertaining to mental health issues. He earned his bachelor's degree from Angelo State University and his J.D. from the University of Texas School of Law.

More Stories

Two Nutritional Sciences Professors Receive National Awards

Texas Tech Professor Named to YWCA Women of Excellence in Science

President Nellis Elected Member of SACSCOC Board of Trustees