Texas Tech University

Meat Judging Team Grills Competition at Fort Worth Stock Show

George Watson

February 5, 2015

Red Raider competitors captured five categories en route to runaway victory.


The Texas Tech University Meat Judging Team in the Department of Animal and Food Sciences had its second dominant performance of the season, taking top honors Monday at the Southwestern Livestock Exposition's Intercollegiate Meat Judging Contest in Fort Worth.

Texas Tech blew away the competition, outdistancing second-place Colorado State by 81 points while dominating almost every division. Texas Tech won the reasons division with a record 893 points and also took first in placings, overall beef, beef judging and beef grading.

The team, from the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources, opened the spring judging season by taking the title at the National Western Stock Show in Denver in January.

Texas Tech University Meat Judging Team
Texas Tech University Meat Judging Team

Clay Bendele, a sophomore from Hondo, earned his second first-place individual finish of the season. Erin Beyer, a sophomore from Brookshire, was third followed by Darby Gonzales, a sophomore from Hondo in seventh and Sean Morrow, a sophomore from Nolan, in 10th.

Professor Mark Miller, the San Antonio Stock Show and Rodeo Distinguished Chair in Meat Sciences, coaches the team. Graduate students Bo Hutto and Dan Crownover assist.

Other members of the meat judging team are:

  • Morgan Boyer, a junior from Wallisville (sixth high individual, alternate division)
  • Annalisa Clark, a sophomore from Las Cruces, New Mexico (fourth high individual, alternate division)
  • Zena Doty, a junior from La Plata, New Mexico (third high individual, alternate division)
  • Scotta Faulkenberry, a junior from Stephenville (second high individual, alternate division)
  • Melani Howell, a sophomore from Seymour (high individual, alternate division)
  • Hallie Hutto, a sophomore from Hondo (10th high individual, alternate division)
  • Michaela Pinder, a sophomore from League City (fifth high individual, alternate division)
  • Cody Shannon, a junior from Royse City (ninth high individual, alternate division)
  • Landon French, a junior from Burleson
  • Elizabeth Burges, a junior from Graham
  • Kyle Lambert, a sophomore from Sweetwater
  • Erin Klein, a sophomore from Littlefield
  • Madison Langemeier, a sophomore from Marion.
More Stories

Judging Teams Open Spring With Strong Showing

Success of Judging Teams Built, Sustained Over Time

New Zealand Gets Taste of Texas Tech's Beef Expertise

Texas Tech Receives $19.3 Million from Bayer CropScience

Texas Tech Ogallala Aquifer Research Team Wins National USDA Award

Board of Regents Approves $13 Million Plant & Soil Science Building

Livestock Judging Team Finishes as Reserve National Champions