Texas Tech Celebrates President’s Excellence Awards

Faculty, staff and students honored for Diversity & Equity and Academic Advising.

President's Excellence Awards

President Nellis and Juan Muñoz recognize award  nominee, Charles E. Terry.

Texas Tech University President M. Duane Nellis presented awards to six faculty, staff and students for President’s Excellence in Diversity & Equity and six faculty and staff for President’s Excellence in Academic Advising.

“I truly appreciate your commitment to the university mission and playing an important role in Texas Tech reaching new heights of excellence,” Nellis said. “As Texas Tech sets its sights on achieving Tier One status, diversity and equity are issues that not only highlight the integrity of the university, but are also necessary for the institution’s success.”

The President’s Excellence in Diversity & Equity awards recognize individuals who provide Outstanding service to equity and diversity enhancement at Texas Tech University or in the community, or with outstanding activities and projects that contribute to a better understanding of equity and diversity issues.

Nearly 40 faculty, staff and students were nominated for the Diversity & Equity awards. Recipients were as follows:

Junior Faculty Award Recipient

Eugenia J. Charles-Newton, faculty services librarian in the Law Library

Senior Faculty Award Recipient

Al Sacco, Jr., dean of the Whitacre College of Engineering

Staff Award Recipient

Jamie L. Perez, assistant director in the Whitacre College of Engineering Dean’s Office

Student Award Recipients

Ibrahim H. Yeter, graduate student in the College of Education

Gustavo A. Chavira, senior in the College of Arts and Sciences and Rawls College of Business Administration

Charles Olivier, senior in the College of Visual and Performing Arts

“The President’s Excellence in Equity and Diversity awards recognize exceptional faculty, staff and students that work to protect and preserve a campus environment where all of its members can succeed,” said Juan Muñoz, senior vice president for Institutional Diversity, Equity & Community Engagement and vice provost for Undergraduate Education & Student Affairs. “We are proud and inspired by their leadership in this area.”

The Academic Advising awards recognize outstanding academic advising achievements. Nine individuals and groups were nominated for the individual and team awards.

Recipients were as follows:

Individual Award Recipient

Kathy Nordstrom, Department of Visual and Performing Arts

Emmett Elam, Department of Agricultural and Applied Economics

Team Award Recipient

TECHniques Center, Student Disability Services (Carol Scott, Kyla Shannon, Jac Cooper and Hannah Bergren)

Office of the President


The Office of the President is committed to enhancing Texas Tech University's presence as a top tier national public research university through efforts that promote even greater levels of student success, academic quality and reputation, research and creative activities, and outreach dimensions.

For information about future events, please visit President's Events.


More Stories

Texas Tech Names 2014 Distinguished Engineering Student

Texas Tech School of Law Posts Highest Passage Rate of Bar Examf

U.S. Energy Project to Give National Wind Institute Research Data Access

Advertising Team Advances to Final Round of National Competition

Doctoral Student Honored for Academics, Leadership

Jun 24, 2022