Employees Receive Distinguished Staff Awards

The broad-based recognition program rewards staff for hard work, enthusiasm and dedication.

Thirty-one employees were honored at the annual Distinguished Staff Awards.

Thirty-one employees were honored at the annual Distinguished Staff Awards.

Texas Tech University’s Offices of the Chancellor and President presented the Distinguished Staff Awards to 31 university employees on Thursday (Oct. 31) at the International Cultural Center.

The Distinguished Staff Awards is a broad-based recognition program that rewards staff for hard work, enthusiasm and dedication to Texas Tech. The awards are highly competitive and promote greater individual staff recognition across campus.

“These awards recognize the gratitude we have toward Texas Tech staff members and the importance of their service,” said Texas Tech President M. Duane Nellis. “We honor these university employees and thank them for providing an environment of success for our faculty and students.”

The Matador Award recipients are emerging leaders who make significant contributions to the university, advocate teamwork and exemplify excellence. Recipients include:

  • Bradley Gonzales, School of Law
  • Amy Kim, University Libraries
  • Candice Rice, Human Resources
  • Brandi Schreiber, Student Disability Services
  • Heather Thomas, Office of Research Services

Recipients of the Masked Rider Award demonstrate initiative for improving efficiencies through creativity, innovation, flexibility and being an example for the university. Recipients include:

  • Patrick Haden, Operations
  • Shannon Jones, University Libraries
  • Deanna McKinin, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Carol Scott, Student Disability Services
  • Nita Scott, College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources

The President’s Award of Excellence recipients are recognized for their leadership abilities. Recipients include:

  • Michael Gunn, Student Government Association
  • Erin Justyna, Center for Active Learning & Undergraduate Engagement
  • Jodi Martin, College of Human Sciences
  • Tonya Pinkerton, Sponsored Programs Accounting & Reporting

The Chancellor’s Colonel Rowan Award for Execution is awarded to recipients who go above and beyond when accomplishing tasks and projects. Recipients include:

  • Peter Rook, Recreational Sports
  • Debbie Starcher, College of Engineering

The Chancellor’s Award for Excellence recipients are recognized for their service and commitment to achieving Texas Tech’s goals by increasing productivity and efficiency, motivating employees to excel and contributing to a service-oriented environment. Recipients include:

  • Kay Hill, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Kim Mills, College of Arts and Sciences

The Extra Mile Award is a new category this year and recognizes staff members who demonstrated selfless initiative and excelled in the responsibilities of their position. Recipients include:

  • Ruben Garza, Transportation & Parking Services
  • Daniel Perez, Transportation & Parking Services

Additionally, two Guns Up Team Awards were given to staff members within Student Disability Services and University Student Housing. The award recognized teams who demonstrate an ability to foster collaboration, communication and cooperation among colleagues.

  • Student Disability Services: Shelley Ducatt, Terri Greene, Ruben Mallory, Tamara Mancini, Larry Phillippe, Carolyn Stephens, Virginia Trevino, James Whitfield
  • University Student Housing: Erika Bowles, RicEsha Clar, Drew Jahr

Recipients were nominated electronically to ensure anonymity. The nominations were completed by other Texas Tech staff members and selected by a committee comprising past award recipients, and the Offices of the Chancellor and President.