Texas Tech Names 2013-2014 Cheerleader Squads

Co-ed and all-girl teams help to fill many event requests.

The Texas Tech University Spirit Program has named the 32-member co-ed cheer squad and the 14-member all-girl squad for the 2013-2014 season. The all-girl squad was added last year to help fill the need for cheerleaders at more athletic and other events and to involve more students.

For the two squads, a total of 106 students auditioned. For the 32-member co-ed squad there were 40 female and 26 male contenders, and for the 14-member all-girl squad, 40 young women tried out.

“This was the most impressive and all-around skill-packed tryout we have had here at Texas Tech,” said Bruce Bills, cheer coach. “Each athlete trying out did an exceptional job.  I’m excited for the new squads and the levels this program is reaching. We have a great group of student leaders and are looking forward to showcasing their talents in the upcoming year.”

Auditions included gameday/spirit, for which they learned and performed the Texas Tech Fight Song and sideline chant; tumbling, including standing tumbling, jumps to tumbling, and running passes; and stunts.

The co-ed team includes seven new and eight veteran women and nine new and eight veteran men. The all-girl squad comprises nine new and five veteran members.

“We could not have imagined the talent we would attract on this team which, by the way, represents students from eight states,” said Stephanie Rhode, director of the spirit program. “I am so proud of Bruce for assembling such an elite group.” 

Named for next year’s squad are

The co-ed team includes seven new and eight veteran women and nine new and eight veteran men. (Click to enlarge image.)

  • John Chebret of Humble, (fourth-year)
  • Laura Perley of Plano, (fourth-year)
  • Regan Waits of Hot Springs, Ark. (fourth-year)
  • Calvin Beene of Humble, (third-year)
  • Noah Cagle of North Richland Hills, (third-year)
  • Coleigh Cheatham of Aledo, (third-year)
  • Mathew Golla of Anaheim, Calif., (third-year)
  • Nicole Mitchell of Abilene, (third-year)
  • Matt Parkin of Heber, Utah, (thrid-year)
  • Hunter Thompson of Leander, (third-year)
  • Bridgette VanWeezel of Burleson, (third-year)
  • Chris Winiecki of Largo, Fla. (third-year)
  • Jamie Balda of Plano (second-year)
  • Tony Castro of Cedar Creek (second-year)
  • Paige Kloetzer of Deer Park, (second-year)
  • Alyssa Rodriguez of San Antonio (second-year)
  • Christopher Alleman of Houston (first-year)
  • Jessie Ayala of San Juan (first-year)
  • Charles Beasley of Stafford, Va, (first-year)
  • Kailea Coels of Rockwall (first-year)
  • Joshua Golden of Georgetown (first-year)
  • Sarah Howard of Austin (first-year)
  • David Laing of Blaine, Minn. (first-year)
  • Carlie Liles of Crawford (first-year)
  • David Lyons of Chicago (first-year)
  • Thomas McCarthy of Derry, N.H. (first-year)
  • Luke Schuster of Palatine, Il. (first-year)
  • Dominique Sellers of Keller (first-year)
  • Dejuan Smith of High Point, N.C. (first-year)
  • Skyla Thompson of Lometa (first-year)
  • Samantha Vonderschmidt of McKinney (first-year)
  • Jonathan Wadas of Palatine, Il. (first-year)


The new all-girl team includes

The all-girl squad comprises nine new and five veteran members. (Click to enlarge image.)

  • Jessica Castro from Keller (returning member)
  • Carli Hinkle from Austin (returning member)
  • Taran Hulsey from Weatherford (returning member)
  • Deyanna Porter from Lorton, Va. (returning member)
  • Kelice Sanders from The Colony (returning member)
  • Taylor Altom from Houston (first-year)
  • Morgan Byrd from Lubbock (first-year)
  • Madison Cheatham from Aledo (first-year)
  • Khamare Farrar from Cocoa, Fla. (first-year)
  • Gabriela Garza from Lubbock (first-year)
  • Kendall Jones from Cleburne (first-year)
  • Ashlyn Massey from North Richland Hills (first-year)
  • Kylie Mathews from Forney (first-year)
  • Haley Smith from Allen (first-year)