Texas Tech Honors College Announces 32 Terry Scholars

Texas Tech is the fastest-growing Terry Scholar university in Texas.

Officials at Texas Tech University’s Honors College announced the names of 32 students receiving Terry Scholarships, making the university the fastest-growing school in the foundation’s 25-year history. No other university has grown in number of scholars as quickly.

In total, the 2013 class of scholars will be awarded a projected $454,000. The university received more than 500 applicants for the scholarship.

“Texas Tech’s incredible growth in the number of Terry Scholars shows not only the type of high-caliber students the university attracts but also reflects well on the type of education these students are seeking from Texas Tech,” said Stephen Fritz, dean of the honors college. “It is my hope that this year’s success will encourage even more students to apply to the Terry program in the upcoming years.”

The Terry Foundation provides four-year scholarships for Texas residents attending Texas Tech University and several other universities in Texas. Terry Scholars are selected from a highly competitive applicant pool of incoming freshmen who demonstrate exceptional leadership, character, financial need and scholastic ability.

The actual amount of the award will vary for each scholar depending on other scholarships and the ability of the scholar’s family to contribute to the cost of college.

“Texas Tech is one of the fastest growing schools in the history of our program,” said Ed Cotham, president of the foundation. “Every time we visit the campus we are amazed at the world class facilities and the energetic faculty and staff. We continue to be impressed with the students and look forward to a long and successful partnership with the university to develop the future leaders of Texas.”

The Terry Foundation was established in 1986 by Houstonians Howard and Nancy Terry out of a desire to help young people help themselves. The foundation’s goal is to strengthen the state of Texas by identifying, developing and supporting Texas high school graduates with high leadership potential.

Recipients of the scholarships are: Conner Atnip of McKinney; Nicole “Nikki” Beasley of Gruver; Brooke Boston and Braiden “Holt” Lamberson of Lubbock; Patrice Carmouche and Tramel Pennie of Houston; John “Jack” Clark of Hartley; Brenna Coffman of Baird; Gracen Daniel of Quitman; Dayna Debeau of Round Rock; Casey Dennis of Odessa; Alexandria “Alex” Fletcher of Glenn Heights; Cathryn Gibbs of DeSoto; Jenna Guzzetta of Leander; Marissa Hernandez of Canyon; Rebecca Irvin of Hico; Thomas “Gabe” Jennings of Fredonia; Austin Jordan of White Oak; Kleg Kennedy of Lampasas; Ashley Kincheloe of Roby; Leonardo “Leo” Martinez of Fort Worth; Dawson McClendon of Sundown; Sarah Morris and Vincent Shoup of Lamesa; Gala Myers of Wills Point; Alyssa Nakamura and Nicole “Nikki” Worley of Trophy Club; Raeann Rubenthaler of Whiteface; Macy Siegert of Seymour; Rachel Veale of Helotes; and Ashleigh Wright of Eldorado.

For more information on Texas Tech’s Terry Scholarship Program, visit http://www.depts.ttu.edu/honors/Terry/.

Find Texas Tech news, experts and story ideas at www.media.ttu.edu and on Twitter @TexasTechMedia.

CONTACT: Heather Medley, director of admissions, Honors College, Texas Tech University, (806) 742-1828 ext. 240 or heather.medley@ttu.edu