Texas Tech Announces New Business Leadership Program

In fall 2013, the Rawls College of Business will launch its inaugural class of the Rawls Business Leadership Program, a learning experience designed to provide students with real-world knowledge and experiences to excel in leadership roles.

The program focuses on developing students who have a strong academic foundation and real-world experience necessary to be a successful leader. The three elements of the program consist of mentoring, an international experience, and experiential living and learning opportunities. While this program is not an independent major, it is designed to enhance the learning experience at Rawls by giving students an opportunity to participate in action-based leadership activities applicable to all business majors.

Kacie Phillips, junior marketing and management major from Tipp City, Ohio, is excited about her opportunity to participate in the program and what it will do for the college.

“I find the role of leadership to be one of complete and utter prestige. It is a responsibility to act accountably, perform exceptionally and positively influence others,” said Phillips. “This program will undoubtedly take our college to the next level.”

The inaugural 2013-2014 Rawls Business Leadership class consists of 30 students, 15 freshmen and sophomores and 15 juniors and seniors. Mayukh Dass, assistant professor in the Area of Marketing, serves as the faculty advisor for the program.


Freshmen and sophomores include:

• Andrew Heitkamp, Corpus Christi

• Mica Dietrich, Colorado Springs, Colo.

• Caroline Roberson, Coppell

• Conner Parker, Houston

• Gavin Howell, Flower Mound

• Johnny Hernandez, Sundown

• Mary Benavides, Dallas

• Sara Van Sickle, Austin

• Savanna Bryer, Magnolia

• Surafell Kebede, Sugarland

• Taylor Newsom, Lubbock

• Reece Norbeck, Spotsylvania, Va.

• Tia Bates, Dallas

• Claire Williams, San Angelo

• Brandon Maxwell, Mesa, Ariz.

Juniors and seniors include:

• Alex Lyon, Cypress

• Blake Hoffman, Lubbock

• Broc Dyson, San Antonio

• David Henley, Texarkana

• Hayden Turn, Lubbock

• Jacob Fedosky, Rowlette

• Joseph Kmetz, Houston

• Joshua Neel, Waco

• Kacie Phillips, Tipp City, Ohio

• Katie Peters, Amarillo

• Khaki Scrivner, Turkey

• Nia Pierce, Montgomery

• Slade Birkenfeld, Snyder

• Star Marlette, The Colony

• Tanner Swaringen, Abilene

 Find Texas Tech news, experts and story ideas at www.media.ttu.edu and on Twitter @TexasTechMedia.

CONTACT: Michele Moskos, senior director, Communications and Marketing, Rawls College of Business, Texas Tech University, (806) 742-3171 or michele.moskos@ttu.edu.