Texas Tech Law Dean Receives Award Named in Her Honor

The Association of Legal Writing Directors (ALWD) presented Texas Tech University School of Law Dean Darby Dickerson with an award named to honor her contributions to the field of legal writing.

Dickerson was the inaugural recipient of the Darby Dickerson Award for Revolutionary Change in Legal Writing during a reception at the Association of American Law Schools Annual Meeting in New Orleans, La.

ALWD President Anthony Niedwiecki said the ALWD Board will give the award periodically to recognize those who have made fundamental and essential contributions to the field of legal writing.

“The Darby Dickerson Award for Revolutionary Change in Legal Writing is presented to a person whose vision and dedication has revolutionized the way legal writing is taught, practiced or conceptualized,” he said. “We felt that Dean Dickerson exemplifies the type of ingenuity, creativity and work ethic required to generate dynamic changes in the field of legal writing and her body of work serves as an example to other legal writers.”

Dickerson was honored in large measure for creating the ALWD Citation Manual: A Professional System of Citation. Published in 2000, she produced four editions of the book, which has been adopted in dozens of law schools and paralegal programs as an alternative to the Bluebook. The book’s citation system is also approved by several courts. The book professionalized legal citation, an area previously delegated to law students. Portions of the book’s proceeds have been used over the years to help improve the status of those teaching legal writing in law schools. Dickerson is also a past director of ALWD and served as managing editor of Legal Writing: The Journal of the Legal Writing Institute.

“It was a tremendous honor to receive this award from ALWD,” Dickerson said. “Working on the ALWD Citation Manual has been one of the highlights of my professional career, and I am proud of the impact that it has had. I am also proud of the work that so many legal-writing professors do day-in and day-out to advance our profession.”

Also at the AALS meeting, Dickerson completed her term as co-chair of the Section for the Law Dean and was selected chair-elect of the Section for Institutional Advancement.

Find more information about Texas Tech University School of Law at www.law.ttu.edu.

Find Texas Tech news, experts and story ideas at www.media.ttu.edu and on Twitter @TexasTechMedia.

Contact: Cory Chandler, communications coordinator, Texas Tech School of Law, (806) 742-3990 ext. 249, or cory.chandler@ttu.edu.