College of Architecture Honors Distinguished Alumni

Honorees were recently recognized in Austin, during a Texas Tech alumni reception.

Texas Tech University’s College of Architecture Alumni Association board members designated the Distinguished Alumnus, Kleinschmidt Award and the New Design Awards for 2012.

Honorees were recognized Oct. 18 in Austin, during a Texas Tech alumni reception held in conjunction with the Texas Society of Architects 73rd Annual Convention and Design Expo.

Distinguished Alumnus


Awarded annually by the Texas Tech College of Architecture Alumni Association, the Distinguished Alumni Award identifies graduates who have clearly defined excellence in their profession as well as dedication to the field of architecture.

James B. “Jim” Boggs graduated with a Bachelor of Architecture in 1962. Today, he is an architect for facilities maintenance for the City of Corpus Christi, which punctuates his 50 years of service to his profession and his community. Boggs also serves through the American Institute of Architects, Kiwanis and the Texas Tech Alumni Association. Boggs also is a regent for Del Mar College.

Kleinschmidt Award


The Kleinschmidt Award was established by the Texas Tech Architecture Alumni Association to recognize individuals who have attained distinguished achievements in their careers and who, because of the special qualities of those achievements, have represented Texas Tech in an exemplary manner. The award is named after the first leader of the Texas Tech architecture program, Florian A. Kleinschmidt.

As a native of West Texas, F. Marie Hall is known for her philanthropic activities across the state, especially at institutions of higher learning. She embraces education, sports, law, medicine, nursing, research, the arts, rural health care and scholarships. As a Texas Tech benefactor, Hall established F. Marie Hall Institute for Rural and Community Health at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center. And as a friend to the Texas Tech College of Architecture, Hall established the H. Deane Pierce Endowed Chair.

Alumni Design Awards


Awarded by the Texas Tech University College of Architecture Alumni Association, this is the debut year for the Alumni Design Award, which seeks to recognize significant projects and showcase the talents of the alumni.

Scott D. Hall graduated with a Bachelor of Architecture in 1989. As an architect for Omniplan Architects, he is recognized for Watermark Community Church, a 70,000-square-foot structure in Dallas. The project is commended for its attention to future campus expansion and use of sustainable materials, including concrete tilt panels, tectum roof panels, concrete floors and low-E insulated glazing and an energy management system.


Daniel S. Hart, a 1990 graduate and architect with Parkhill, Smith and Cooper, is recognized for the Dollye Neal Garden Chapel, located on the Midland College campus. With seating for 50, the structure is described as a chapel within a chapel. Each row has two benches, one long and one short, with a ceiling configuration that defines a smaller chapel above the shorter benches. And the east wall of the main room is composed mostly of glass overlooking a garden.