Faculty Honored by American Society of Animal Science

Mark Miller, Michael Galyean and Bob Allbin were recognized for their contributions.



Three Texas Tech University faculty members in the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources received awards for their contributions to science and production from the American Society of Animal Science at the organization’s annual meeting in Phoenix.

Mark Miller, professor of animal science, received the Meat Science Research Award; Michael Galyean, dean of the college, received the Morrison Award; and Bob Albin, retired professor in animal science, was named an American Society of Animal Science Fellow.

Miller is a Texas Tech professor of meat science and muscle biology, and holds the university’s San Antonio Livestock Show Distinguished Chair in Meat Science. The American Society of Animal Science Meat Science Research Award is given to animal scientists who have contributed excellent basic or applied research in meat science.



Miller has conducted numerous research projects related to meat quality, tenderness, body composition and food safety. Both Miller and Galyean are Horn Professors.

Galyean holds the Thornton Distinguished Chair in beef cattle nutrition and management in Texas Tech’s Department of Animal and Food Science. The American Society of Animal Science Morrison Award is given in recognition of research excellence of direct importance to livestock production. He was named a fellow in the American Society of Animal Science in 2010.

Before retiring, Albin was CASNR assistant director for research, chairman of the Department of Animal Science and director of the Texas Tech Institute for Research in Plant Stress. He is a certified animal scientist, a charter diplomat with the American College of Animal Nutrition and founding president of the Plains Nutrition Council.



Students Honored for High Quality Theses and Dissertations

College of Education Alumna Making Waves on West Coast



The College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources is made up of six departments:

  • Agriculture and Applied Economics
  • Agricultural Education and Communications
  • Animal and Food Science
  • Landscape Architecture
  • Plant and Soil Science
  • Natural Resources Management

The college also consists of eleven research centers and institutes, including the Cotton Economics Research Institute, the International Cotton Research Center and the Fiber and Biopolymer Research Institute.