Texas Tech Law Announces New Board of Barristers Executive Committee

Written by Celeste Villarreal

Texas Tech University School of Law announced the new executive committee for the Board of Barristers, the law school’s premiere advocacy organization that conducts intra-school competitions in mock trial, moot court and negotiations. Members are selected from advanced students who demonstrated competence in advocacy competitions and are interested in assisting other students improve their skills.

Brian Sullivan (’13) will serve as chairman of the 2012–2013 Board of Barristers. Sullivan is a fourth generation Austinite. He graduated magna cum laude from Stephen F. Austin State University in 2009 with a bachelor of arts in communication studies and sociology. During his senior year, Sullivan served as the university’s student body president. At Texas Tech Law, he served as a member of the Texas Young Lawyers Association National Trial Competition team, an associate member of the Board of Barristers, and community service chairman of the Volunteer Law Students Association. He is a contributing staff writer for the Texas Bank Lawyer and volunteers with Hospice of Lubbock. A trained mediator, Sullivan is pursuing a J.D./M.B.A. dual degree and has additional interests in becoming a motivational speaker.

Reagan Marble (’13) will serve as vice chair of judges. Marble is a native of Jourdanton. He graduated from Baylor University in 2009 with a bachelor of arts in political science. After college, Marble worked for his family’s cattle business before coming to Lubbock to attend law school. At Texas Tech Law, he served as a legal intern for a Lubbock renewable energy development company, Group NIRE, competed on two national moot court teams and serves as the vice-chair of the Law Student Division of the State Bar of Texas.

Jared Mullowney (’13) will serve as vice chair of trial advocacy. Originally from Sunnyvale, Mullowney earned his bachelor of arts in psychology from the University of Texas at Austin. At Texas Tech Law, he focuses on both intellectual property and litigation. In November 2011, he won the regional championship of the American Bar Association Arbitration Competition and ultimately won the national championship in January. Mullowney also serves as the president of the Intellectual Property Student Association.

Neal Spradlin (’13) will serve as vice chair of appellate advocacy. Spradlin was born outside Cleveland, Ohio, but grew up in Rockwall, Texas. He graduated magna cum laude from Austin College while earning his bachelor of arts in political science and sociology. At Texas Tech Law, he is a member of the Phi Delta Phi honors legal fraternity and serves as the vice president of the Business and Bankruptcy Law Association. He is seeking a J.D./M.B.A. and desires to practice business litigation and transactions.

Jobe Jackson (’13) will serve as vice chair of negotiations. Originally from San Antonio, Jackson graduated summa cum laude with a bachelor of arts in religion from Hampden-Sydney College. In addition to competing in all of the Board of Barristers competitions, Jackson also serves as a staff editor for the Estate Planning and Community Property Law Journal. He is interested in practicing civil litigation.

Jessica Haseltine (’13) will serve as vice chair of administration. Haseltine is from Abilene and received her bachelor of science in composite interdisciplinary studies from Abilene Christian University and a master of science in environmental management from Hardin-Simmons University. At Texas Tech Law, she served as an officer in several student organizations and was the founding president of the Involved Students Association. She is a registered patent agent and currently works for Texas Tech’s Office of Technology Commercialization. Haseltine is also concurrently pursuing a Masters of Library Science at Texas Woman’s University.

More information about Texas Tech University School of Law may be found at www.law.ttu.edu.

Find Texas Tech news, experts and story ideas at www.media.ttu.edu and on Twitter @TexasTechMedia.

Contact: Celeste Villarreal, communications coordinator, Texas Tech School of Law, (806) 742-3990 ext. 249, or celeste.villarreal@ttu.edu.