Seventy Students Inducted into Phi Beta Kappa

The honor society is considered one of the nation’s leading advocates for excellence in education.

Texas Tech University

Texas Tech’s Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa inducted 70 students into the distinguished honor society.

Former Sen. Robert Krueger, once the U.S. Ambassador to Burundi and Botswana and current visiting lecturer at Texas Tech, served as the keynote speaker.

Chancellor Kent Hance, Provost Bob Smith and Senior Vice Provost Rob Stewart provided welcoming remarks.

Phi Beta Kappa has been in continuous existence since its founding in 1776 and is considered one of the nation’s leading advocates for excellence in education, particularly in the liberal arts and sciences. The society has chapters at only 10 percent of U.S. universities. Only three public universities in the state of Texas have been granted the right to host chapters.

“Having a Phi Beta Kappa chapter tells prospective faculty that Texas Tech is an institution whose commitment to excellence is proven and established,” Bailey said. “For our students, it means that every degree we grant is enhanced in value. It means permanent association with the very best in American education.”

Recipients are:

Lesley Noelle Abraham, a cell and molecular biology major; Landon Kirk Akins, a political science major; Erika Allen, a biology major; Justin Ayankola, a biology major; Carrie Bradshaw, an exercise and sport sciences major; Valerie Brooker, a biology major; Wade Hunter Brown, a chemistry major; Rebecca Ruth Buie, a cell and molecular biology major; Samuel Lamas Bushong, a mathematics major; Catherine Rebecca Cage, a mathematics major; Michael L. Conner, a chemistry major; Allison Leslie Caudill, a psychology major; Joshua Shane Dees, a Spanish major; Natalie Nicole DeLeon, a psychology major; Akash T. Desai, a biology major; Gabriella Maria Dominguez, a political science major; Brittney Ferguson, a psychology major; Erin Michele Fitzgerald, a mathematics major; Nicholas J. Flora, an exercise and sport sciences major; Christopher L. Forbus, a communication studies major; and Erin Foster, an exercise and sport Sciences major.

Megan Galindo, a biology major; Alexandra Gardner, a chemistry major; Isela Gonzalez, a social work major; Meera J. Gudavalli, a biology major; Nick Grimberg a sociology major; Arianna Jael Hankins, a biochemistry major; Melanie Rae Helms, a psychology major; Joseph Patrick Herbert, a cell and molecular biology major; Jeremy Andrew Herrera, a German major; Megan Elizabeth Jares, a geosciences major; Allison Marie Jones, an English major; Eileen C. Judkins, a chemistry major; Jacqueline K. Kafka, an English major; Mark Allen Kennedy, a biology major; and Terry Knight, an anthropology major.

Isamar Marmolejo, a sociology major; Marylyn Liswyn Mathew, a cell and molecular biology major; Lauren Michelle McVay, a Spanish major; Mary Moellering, a cell and molecular biology major; Zachary Ryan Monreal, a political science major; Bryan David Munson, an English major; Lauren Elizabeth Myhre, an English major; Julia Adele Nielsen, a biology major; Kristin Olson, an economics major; Kealey Parkin, a Russian language and area studies major; Daniel Puckett, a biology major; Daniel Rakes, an economics major; Sriyutha Reddy, a biology major; Kimberly M. Reynolds, a psychology major; Rebecca Redcorn, a mathematics major; John D. Reinhard, a biology major; Calvin L. Renteria, a biochemistry major; Sarah Elizabeth Rocha, a social work major; and Dylan W. Rutherford, a biology major.

Thomas A. Schaeffer, a biology major; Ashley Nicole Seal, a history major; Kara Shelton, a social Work major; Kelcie Silva a psychology major; Rebecca Quinn Smith, an English major; Ruben Solis, a cell and molecular biology major; Kyle Burten Stitle, a biochemistry major; Sowmya Sunkara, a  psychology major; Rahel Tekola, a political science major; Phillip E. Wainwright, a psychology major; Michaela M. Wallace, a biology major; Stephanie Denise Weinfuss, a sociology major; Lauren Eva Wheeler, an exercise and sport sciences major; Phillip Whitehead, a psychology major; and Joshua Alan Wilson, a biochemistry major.

College of
Arts & Sciences

The Texas Tech University College of Arts & Sciences was founded in 1925 as one of the university’s four original colleges.

Comprised of 16 departments and more than 400 tenured faculty members, the College offers a wide variety of courses and programs in the humanities, social and behavioral sciences, mathematics and natural sciences. Students can choose from 41 bachelor’s degree programs, 34 master’s degrees and 14 doctoral programs.

With just under 11,000 students enrolled, the College of Arts & Sciences is the largest college on the Texas Tech University campus.

In fall 2016, the college embarked upon its first capital campaign, Unmasking Innovation: The Campaign for Arts & Sciences. It focuses on five critical areas of need: attracting and retaining top faculty, enhancing infrastructure, recruiting high-potential students, undergraduate research and growing the Dean’s Fund for Excellence.



Professors Receive $1.5 Million Grant for Research Efforts

Political Science Professor Named a Fellow in Terrorism Studies

Graduate Students Finish First in MBA Challenge