Texas Tech Law School Honors Distinguished Alumni

The Texas Tech University School of Law will recognize two distinguished alumni Friday (Feb. 25) at the Seventh Annual Law School Gala & Distinguished Awards Dinner at the Merket Alumni Center.

By Tina Dechausay

The Distinguished Alumni Award is given annually in recognition of service to the bench, the bar and the public. The Distinguished Service Award is given annually in recognition of outstanding service to the Texas Tech University School of Law.

The recipient of the Distinguished Alumnus Award is Robert A. “Bob” Black. Barbara K. Runge is the recipient of the Distinguished Service Award.

“The gala is a wonderful opportunity to get to know our alumni and show the award recipients how much we appreciate everything that they have done for our school and the legal profession,” said Susan Saab Fortney, interim dean and Horn Professor. 

Robert A. Black

Robert A. Black, class of 1980, is the managing shareholder of the law firm of MehaffyWeber in Beaumont. He is the president-elect of the State Bar of Texas for 2010-2011.

Black is an accomplished litigator but focuses his practice on mediation. He has handled more than 3,300 disputes, including complex class action matters. Black is admitted to practice before the U.S. Supreme Court and the Texas Supreme Court.

Among his many accomplishments include being named a Texas Super Lawyer seven times by Texas Monthly and being listed as one of The Best Lawyers in America nine times by Best Lawyers. The Texas Bar Foundation Board of Trustees elected him a Fellow of the Texas Bar Foundation.

Black previously served as chair of the board of directors for the State Bar of Texas and co-chaired the Nominations and Elections Subcommittee. He has also devoted his time to more than half a dozen civic organizations in the Beaumont area.

Barbara K. Runge

Barbara K. Runge, class of 1974, is an accomplished solo practitioner in Houston. She is board certified in family law and works extensively with the American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers in national and state level leadership roles.

Runge is also certified in arbitration by the AAML and in mediation by Attorney-Mediators, Inc. She is a Fellow with the Texas Bar Foundation, has presided over five professional organizations, and has chaired six legal and civic committees.

Her work has earned her five Texas Super Lawyer titles, two Best Lawyer in America listings, and numerous Top Lawyers titles in H Magazine. She continues to share her knowledge of family law and alternative dispute resolution in numerous CLEs and trainings each year.

A long-time supporter of her alma mater, Runge, who received the Distinguished Alumnus Award in 2002, has been a member of the Law School Foundation’s Board of Trustees since 1982, including serving seven years (1993-2000) as president. 

Distinguished Alumnus Award Recipients

1995    Robert A. Junell ’77

1996    Richard C. Hile ’74

1997    Walter B. Huffman ’77

1998    Wayne A. Reaud ’74

1999    Martin W. Dies ‘74

2000    Jeff Wentworth ’71

2001    Maryellen Hicks ’75

2002    Barbara K. Runge ’74

2003    Robert L. Duncan ’81

2004    Karen P. Tandy ’77

2005    W. Mark Lanier ’84

2006    Hon. Phil Johnson ’75

2007    Matthew D. Orwig ’84

Richard B. Roper ’82

2008    David H. Segrest ’70

Glenn D. West ’78

2009    Mark Griffin ’79

John T. Huffaker ’74

2010    Robert A. Black ’80

Distinguished Service Award Recipients

2007    Hershell L. Barnes, Jr. ’70

2008    Tom Hall, ’81

2009    Roger A. Key, ’76

2010    Barbara K. Runge, ’74

Find Texas Tech news, experts and story ideas at www.media.ttu.edu and on Twitter @TexasTechMedia.

Contact: Tina Dechausay, communications coordinator, Texas Tech School of Law, (806) 742-3990 ext. 260, or tina.dechausay@ttu.edu.