Texas Tech Law Professor Earns Lola Wright Ethics Award

Written by Megan Robare

A Texas Tech University professor of law was selected as recipient of the Lola Wright Ethics Award by the Texas Bar Foundation.

Susan Saab Fortney, a Horn Professor and associate dean for research for the Law School, received the award based on her outstanding public service in advancing and enhancing legal ethics in Texas.

Fortney’s current work focuses on law firm ethics and governance. She has conducted empirical studies on lawyer conduct and co-authored the nation’s first textbook on legal malpractice law. Fortney has also served as a volunteer in the Texas disciplinary system at every level from chairing the Texas Supreme Court Grievance Oversight Committee to serving as a volunteer on a local grievance committee.

“Congratulations to Susan not only for receiving this most prestigious award, but also for her leadership in our profession in the vitally important field of ethics,” said Walt Huffman, dean of the Texas Tech School of Law.

Fortney’s award, along with the Texas Bar Foundation Award for the best legal article in Texas won by Bryan Camp, Texas Tech School of Law professor, will be presented at the Texas Bar Foundation Fellows banquet June 11 during the State Bar Convention in Fort Worth.

The Lola Wright Foundation Award is the most prestigious Legal Ethics Award in Texas. It was established in 1985 and is presented in memory of Coleman Gay, a distinguished Texas lawyer who exemplified the highest standards of professional ethics. A cash award of $5,000 is given to the recipient for donation to the charity of his or her choice.

Find Texas Tech news, experts and story ideas at www.media.ttu.edu.

CONTACT: Casey Carson, director of alumni relations, Texas Tech University School of Law, (806) 742-3990 ext. 315, or casey.carson@ttu.edu.