Texas Tech Staff Members Honored For Superior Service

The awards recognize those who provide excellent customer service in the performance of their jobs.

Texas Tech University staff members were honored April 12 with Quality Service Awards. The awards, established in 1997, recognize those who provide excellent customer service in the performance of their jobs.

“Our staff members are the heart of our university and are often the first impression people have of Texas Tech,” said Guy Bailey, president of Texas Tech. “I am delighted we could recognize a few of our superb staff members for their outstanding work.”

One staff member received the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence and a $1,500 check. Twenty-one individuals received the President’s Quality Service Award and a $500 check. Three team awards were also presented. Winners were nominated for the awards and selected by a committee. Nominees are judged on a number of criteria based on outstanding customer service.

Dan Burns, associate director of the United Spirit Arena, received the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence.

Receiving the President’s Quality Service Award are: Srirangam Addepalli and Ravi Vadapalli, High Performance Computing Center; Angela Beikmann and Sylvia Garcia, Department of Plant and Soil Science; Deborah Bowen, Recreational Sports; John Brocklehurst and Andy Villarreal, Physical Plant - utilities; Yolanda Coronado and Alan Cushman, Hospitality Services; Shelley Ducatt, Student Disability Services; Lacey Ellis, Human Resource Services; Angela Forney, University Student Housing; Mark Grimson, Department of Biological Sciences; Katy Henderson, Office of the Vice President for Research; Monica Hicks, College of Arts and Sciences; Dorothy Kruse and Charles Leatherwood, Grounds Maintenance; Pam Roberson, Office of the Provost; Noel Sloan, Financial Affairs; Mike Smith, College of Visual and Performing Arts; and Shelly Walraven, Information Technology.

Team awards were given to: Exa Goode, Sandy Jansen, Emily Knopp, Brian Uline and Elizabeth Stuart in Audit Services; Jim Anderson, Bobbie Latham, Ethan Logan and Becky Wilson in Enrollment Management; and Thomas Reynolds, Sarah Timmons, Janet Veal and Richard Verrone in the Honors College.