Horn Professor Wins Order of Don Quijote Award

Janet Pérez has been honored by Sigma Delta Pi, the National Hispanic Honor Society, for her service in Hispanic scholarship.

Written by Megan Robare

Pérez will receive one of the highest honors awarded by Hispanic honor society Sigma Delta Pi on April 29.

Pérez will receive one of the highest honors awarded by Hispanic honor society Sigma Delta Pi on April 29.

The Texas Tech Alpha Phi chapter of Sigma Delta Pi, the National Hispanic Honor Society, has announced that a Horn Professor of Spanish has been awarded the Order of Don Quijote.

Janet Pérez, Qualia Chair of Spanish in the Department of Classical & Modern Languages & Literatures, was honored by Sigma Delta Pi for her exceptional and meritorious service in the fields of Hispanic scholarship, the teaching of Spanish and the promotion of relations between English- and Spanish-speaking countries.

In addition to teaching Spanish language and literature, Pérez served as the editor of Hispania, the academic journal of the American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese, for the term limit of nine years.

Since coming to Texas Tech in 1977 as a visiting professor from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Pérez has established herself as a distinguished faculty member. She was the first female faculty member in the College of Arts and Sciences to receive the Barnie E. Rushing, Jr. Faculty Distinguished Research Award, and has been elected to full membership in the Academia Norteamericana de la Lengua Espanola, the highest honor available in Spanish language and literatures.

The Order of Don Quijote is one of the highest honors conferred by Sigma Delta Pi. Pérez has been a member of the honor society since 1964.

The induction ceremony will take place at 6:30 p.m. April 29 in room 001 of the Education Building. The public is welcome to attend and a reception will follow.


Dewhurst Announces Emerging Technology Fund Award

Ph.D. Candidate Earns Distinguished Dissertation Award

Law Professor Wins Texas' Top Legal Writing Award

College of
Arts & Sciences

The Texas Tech University College of Arts & Sciences was founded in 1925 as one of the university’s four original colleges.

Comprised of 16 departments and more than 400 tenured faculty members, the College offers a wide variety of courses and programs in the humanities, social and behavioral sciences, mathematics and natural sciences. Students can choose from 41 bachelor’s degree programs, 34 master’s degrees and 14 doctoral programs.

With just under 11,000 students enrolled, the College of Arts & Sciences is the largest college on the Texas Tech University campus.

In fall 2016, the college embarked upon its first capital campaign, Unmasking Innovation: The Campaign for Arts & Sciences. It focuses on five critical areas of need: attracting and retaining top faculty, enhancing infrastructure, recruiting high-potential students, undergraduate research and growing the Dean’s Fund for Excellence.