Texas Tech Chancellor’s Council Announces Distinguished Teaching, Research Awards

The annual Chancellor's Council Distinguished Teaching and Research Awards are given to faculty members from each of the Texas Tech University System's universities.

The highest awards given by the Texas Tech University System to faculty members at its member institutions were announced today (Dec. 11) by Chancellor Kent Hance. The annual Texas Tech University System Chancellor’s Council Distinguished Teaching and Research Awards go to two faculty members from Texas Tech University, the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center and Angelo State University. The Distinguished Research Awards go to Seshadri Ramkumar, associate professor of environmental toxicology at the Institute of Environmental and Human Health and Afzal Siddiqui, associate academic dean in the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences at the Health Sciences Center. The Distinguished Teaching Awards go to Edward Anderson, professor of mechanical engineering at Texas Tech and Alyce Ashcraft, associate professor in the Anita Thigpen Perry School of Nursing.  Winners from Angelo State were announced and honored at a general faculty meeting in April. Ellen Moreland, of the Department of Mathematics, received the Distinguished Teaching Award and Arnoldo DeLeon of the Department of History, received the Distinguished Research Award. “These outstanding faculty members exemplify the quality and character of the professors in the Texas Tech University System,” said Hance. “Their passion and dedication to academics and research is unmatched and is apparent through their hard work and numerous achievements. It is my pleasure to once again award these honors to such deserving faculty members.” This is the ninth year for the Chancellor’s Council to present the awards. The winners each receive a plaque and a $10,000 cash award. The Chancellor’s Council raises funds for student scholarships, faculty recruitment and support, and other programs.  Anderson joined Texas Tech in 1986 as chairman of the Department of Mechanical Engineering. He has heldthe Ray Butler Distinguished Educator in the Whitacre College of Engineering and has served as director of Texas Tech Teaching, Learning and Technology Center. He is known for using the latest technology to develop new and innovative teaching techniques and has received more than $400,000 in National Science Foundation funding related to computer-based instruction and engineering education. Among his many honors, Anderson was named the 2005 State of Texas Piper Professor and in 2003 received the National Award for Excellence in Distance Education from the U.S. Distance Learning Association and the Institute for Telecommunications. He earned his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Iowa State University and his doctorate from Purdue. Ramkumar came to Texas Tech in 1999 and joined the Institute of Environmental and Human Health in 2002. His research has lead to the development of Fibertect – a patented nonwoven decontamination wipe. The product was found to outperform other products in tests conducted by the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory. Ramkumar’s nonwoven fabric work has received international publicity. He has received almost $4 million in external funding for his research. He has received the Technical Textiles Accomplishments Award, an international award presented for nonwovens research, Lubbock's Top Twenty Under 40 Award in 2007, the Scientist of the Year award from the Lubbock Chapter of the Achievement Rewards for College Scientists and the Lubbock Chamber of Commerce’s Innovation in Technology Award. He earned his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Anna University in India and his doctorate from the University of Leeds, England. He originally designed and developed the INDO-US collaborative conference, "Advances in Textiles, Machinery, Nonwovens and Technical Textiles-ATNT" which is held every year in South India since 2004.