Texas Tech Names College of Education Interim Dean

A national registry aids the university in filling interim positions.

Texas Tech University announced today (May 14) that Charles P. Ruch will serve as interim dean of the College of Education, effective June 1. Ruch (pronounced "rook") is the retired president of the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology. He is a member of the Registry for College and University Presidents, a nonprofit organization which engages former university presidents interested in service in interim leadership roles. He will not be a candidate for the permanent dean's position.  Texas Tech Provost Bob Smith said finding an interim dean through the registry was a winning situation for the university. "Dr.  Ruch brings to Texas Tech a wealth of higher education leadership experience," said Bob Smith, Texas Tech provost. "It is a great advantage for Texas Tech to be able to draw on the resources of the registry to bring strong, proven leaders in to fill our short-term needs." This is the second interim position Texas Tech has filled using the registry. Last week, Jon C. Strauss, president emeritus of Harvey Mudd College in Claremont, Calif., was named interim dean of the Edward E. Whitacre Jr. College of Engineering. A national search for a permanent dean will begin in the next academic year. "We have excellent faculty and staff in the College of Education," said Guy Bailey, Texas Tech president. "Dr. Ruch will help us continue to move forward while we search for a replacement for Dean Sheryl Santos." Prior to his tenure at the South Dakota School of Mines, Ruch was president of Boise State University for 10 years. He also served as provost and vice president for academic affairs and dean of the College of Education at Virginia Commonwealth University. He earned his bachelor's degree from College of Wooster and his master's and doctorate from Northwestern University. He also holds a certificate from the Harvard Institute for Educational Management. Ruch was appointed by President George W. Bush as a trustee of the Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation and by the Secretary of Energy to the National Coal Council. He has published widely and participated in numerous national higher education associations including the American Council on Education's Task Force on Teacher Education. Santos will step down as dean of the College of Education June 1 after serving as dean since July 2003. She will take a one-year sabbatical before returning in the fall 2010 semester to a faculty position. Find Texas Tech news, experts and story ideas at www.media.ttu.edu. Contact:  Leslie Cranford, senior editor, Office of Communications and Marketing, Texas Tech University, (806) 742-2136 or leslie.cranford@ttu.edu.