System Honors Hill Country Graduates

Dozens recognized during 2009 Hill Country graduation ceremony in Johnson City.

Bachelor of General Studies graduates.

Bachelor of General Studies graduates. (L-R) Janie Robbins, Kerrville; Renea Grobe, Fredericksburg; Annette Michelle Valderaz, Comfort; not pictured, Rebecca Cook, Doss/Fredericksburg. Click to Enlarge.

A celebration honoring students of the Hill Country sites of Texas Tech University at Fredericksburg, Highland Lakes and Junction, as well as TTU Health Sciences Center School of Nursing and Angelo State University, was held May 2 at the Pedernales Electric Cooperative Building in Johnson City.

Texas Tech University at the Hill Country sites also celebrated the 100th student to graduate in the Master of Education in Educational Leadership program. Fourteen teachers graduated in the sixth cohort including Marti Spruiell and Renata Vanderburg, Fredericksburg; Nancy Scott, Mertzon; and Kaci Hunter, Boerne. These graduates are certified to be school administrators. Many former graduates of this program are now principals and assistant principals throughout the Hill Country.

Rene Cadena, Bandera, was also recognized for completing the Superintendent Certification.

In addition, four students, Renea Grobe and Rebecca Cook, Fredericksburg; Michelle Valderaz, Comfort; and Janie Robbins, Kerrville graduated with Bachelor of General Studies degrees.

The Regional Dean of the TTU Health Sciences Center School of Nursing, Dr. Myrna Armstrong recognized 73 students in Central Texas who will receive Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN), Second Degree Accelerated BSN or Master of Science in Nursing degrees.

Angelo State University, a member of the TTU system, recognized the 26 graduates in their Master of Education in Guidance and Counseling degree, which included Jennifer Immel, Kimberly Wilson and Dawn Barron, Fredericksburg; Sarah McCrea, Denise Enloe, Steve Hubbeling, Michelle Davis and Tiffany Stehling, Kerrville; Robyn Langston, Pipe Creek; Felicia Laxson, Mason; Lindsey Balmos, Blanco; and Linda Grotz, Center Point.

A local graduation celebration is held each year honoring all of the Hill Country graduates for the school year with many students also participating in official graduation ceremonies held in Lubbock and San Angelo.

Masters of Education in Educational Leadership graduates at May, 2009 ceremony.

Masters of Education in Educational Leadership graduates at May, 2009 ceremony. Click to Enlarge.

Photo Information

Front row: Dr. Joe Claudet; Dr. Fred Hartmeister; Dr. Kelly Fox; Dean Sheryl Santos; Dr. JoAnn Klinker; Graduates: Ricardo Garza, Austin; Leeann Harkins, Marble Falls; Nancy Scott, Mertzon; Dana Green, Marble Falls; Kaci Hunter, Boerne; Stacy Lashbrook, Marble Falls; Dana Schlabach, Georgetown; Marti Spruiell and Renata Vanderburg, Fredericksburg; Phyllis Smith, Burnet; Cynthia Clinesmith, instructor.

Back row: Dr. Clint Carpenter; Graduates: Toby Fletcher, Marble Falls; Mickey Hughes, Marble Falls; Michael Fisher, Lampasas; James Smart, Lometa; Alton Fields, Horseshoe Bay; Dr. Fernando Valle. All faculty are from the College of Education, Texas Tech University.