Texas Tech Honors Outstanding Undergraduate Researchers and Faculty Mentors

The awards spotlight undergraduate research efforts.

Texas Tech University’s Center for Undergraduate Research recognized outstanding undergraduate researchers, faculty mentors and graduating scholars during a recent spring banquet.


Center for Undergraduate Research awards and certificates from U.S. Sen. John Cornyn were presented to nine undergraduate researchers and six faculty mentors.  The awards are part of the Center for Undergraduate Research initiative to recognize and spotlight undergraduate research at Texas Tech.  


Recipients of the Outstanding Undergraduate Researcher awards are: Nicholas Bergfeld, Heather Thomas, Allison Spencer, Katrina DeLeon, Joseph Martin, Mattie Wilson, Miranda Woodruff, Nichole Hodge and Heather Darnell.


Recipients of the Outstanding Faculty Mentor awards from Texas Tech University are: Elizabeth Trejos-Castillo, Department of Human Development and Family Studies; Margaret Elbow, Department of Sociology, Anthropology and Social Work and Ann Hawkins, Department of English. Mentors from the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center are: Kendra Rumbaugh, Department of Surgery; Jean Strahlendorf, Department of Physiology; and Jeffrey Thomas, Department of Cell Biology and Biochemistry.


The students were nominated by faculty mentors to recognize their exemplary performance and dedication to undergraduate research at Texas Tech. Faculty mentors were nominated by students to recognize them for their performance and dedication to undergraduate researchers.     


Student research projects represented a wide range of majors from departments across the campus. 


CONTACT: Jeannie Diaz, Center for Undergraduate Research, at (806) 742-1095, or jeannie.diaz@ttu.edu.