Texas Supreme Court Recognizes Texas Tech with First-ever Service Award

Texas Tech University School of Law received the first-ever Law School Commitment to Service Award, presented by the Access to Justice Commission of the Supreme Court of Texas.

Written by Sarah Whetstone

Justice Harriet O'Neill presented the award to Associate Dean Wesley Cochran on Nov. 18 at the induction ceremony for new members of the State Bar of Texas in Austin. 

"I am proud of our faculty and students for their commitment to public service," said Walter Huffman, dean of the Texas Tech law school. "It is very significant that our law school was selected for this award over the other eight law schools in Texas."  

Texas Tech received the award in recognition of the student and faculty contribution to legal services in the community.  In her presentation remarks, Justice O'Neill referenced Texas Tech Law's commitment to serving the citizens of Lubbock through clinical operations and pro bonowork. 

"The faculty, staff and students of the Texas Tech law school have a long tradition of providing pro bonolegal services to low-income individuals in the community," said Larry Spain, director of clinical programs.  "Over the past few years, Texas Tech's School of Law has significantly increased its commitment to access to justice issues and encouraged both students and faculty to contribute their time and effort to pro bonoservice benefiting underserved populations through a variety of programs and activities."

The law school's clinical programs provide practical skills training for nearly 100 law students annually while contributing critical legal services to low-income individuals in the community as well as other public service.  The law school's faculty members provide critical support as well to various pro bono legal services and projects in the West Texas area.

CONTACT: Larry Spain, clinical programs director, Texas Tech University School of Law, (806) 742-3787 ex. 227, or larry.spain@ttu.edu.