Skoog Cup Winner to Speak at CISER Harvest Dinner, Award Presented to TTUHSC Professor

Media advisory for upcoming event.

WHAT:           Annual CISER Harvest Dinner and Skoog Cup Winner Celebration WHEN:           6 p.m. today (Nov. 18). WHERE:         Room 1 in the Education Building on the Texas Tech campus. EVENT:          Susan Talkmitt, the associate director of curriculum and instruction for the T-STEM Center, will speak to dinner attendees and finish out her term as last year's cup recipient. Talkmitt was named the 2007 recipient of the Skoog Cup last November at the Conference for the Association of Science Teachers. The Skoog Cup isnamed after the first award recipient, Gerald Skoog, a professor emeritus at Texas Tech's College of Education. The award, started in 1999 by Texas Tech University's Howard Hughes Medical Institute Science Education Program and Science Teachers Association of Texas, is given to a faculty or staff member at a Texas college or university who has demonstrated significant contributions and leadership in the development of quality science education. Also at the event, Dr. Lorenz Lutherer, a professor of physiology and internal medicine at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, will receive the Susan G. Talkmitt Science Motivator Award. Lutherer has taught and mentored at Texas Tech for more than 30 years. He was chosen to receive the award because he has taught his students a love and appreciation for science and helped them reach their goals. Not only has he taught on the graduate level but also mentored 12 medical students during lab rotations and five HHMI undergraduate fellows.CONTACT: Joni Sanders, event organizer, (806) 742-1998 ext. 424, (806) 675-6444, or