Texas Tech Vice President of Research Search Committee Named

Members of Texas Tech faculty, staff, student body and community to help with search.

Finding a new Vice President of Research was one of the main points President Bailey outlined as a priority during the Fall Faculty Meeting. Photo by Artie Limmer.

President Guy Bailey appointed a 10-member search committee to assist in finding the university’s next vice president of research Oct. 7.

The committee includes representation from Texas Tech’s faculty, student body, staff and the community.

The Vice President of Research oversees initiatives to increase external funding for the university’s research mission. The office also directs the Office of Research Services, the Northwest Texas Small Business Development Center, the Wind Science and Engineering Research Center, Center for Biotechnology and Genomics and the Institute for Comparative and Experimental Medicine. The vice president also manages two research facilities, the Experimental Sciences Building and the East Loop Research Building.

“This is an extremely important position for Texas Tech,” Bailey said. “The growth of our research efforts is vital as we move toward Tier One university designation. Research is a priority at Texas Tech. It is the creation of new knowledge that not only allows us to better educate our students, but also to help us solve the issues facing Texas, our nation and the world.”

The search committee will be chaired by Bob Stafford, member of the Texas Tech University System Board of Regents.

Committee members are:

  • Lee Bobbitt, president, Student Government Association
  • Cal Lewis, associate dean, School of Law
  • Stefan Estreicher, Horn Professor, Department of Physics
  • William Lan, chairman, Department of Education Psychology & Leadership
  • Sukant Misra, associate dean for research, College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources
  • Sindee Simon, professor, Department of Chemical Engineering
  • Windy Sitton, member, Texas Tech University System Board of Regents
  • Carolyn Tate, professor, School of Art
  • Kent Wilkinson, professor, College of Mass Communications