Engineering Professor Receives Two National Awards

Henryk Temkin honored with a Distinguished Service Medal from the Department of Defense for outstanding public service.

Henryk Temkin is a director of the Nano Tech Center at Texas Tech, a premiere engineering facility devoted to the study of nanotechnology.

College of Engineering Horn Professor Henryk Temkin recently received a Distinguished Service Medal from the Department of Defense and the Aron Kressel Lasers and Electro-Optics Society (LEOS) Award from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).

The director of the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA), an agency of the United States Department of Defense responsible for the development of new technology for use by the military, presented Temkin with the Bronze Secretary of Defense award for Exceptional Public Service, a Distinguished Service Medal. The award was in recognition of Temkin’s service to DARPA for the past three years.

“We are very proud of Henryk’s scientific and technical contributions at DARPA and in the College of Engineering,” said Pamela A. Eibeck, dean of the College of Engineering, “He is a worldwide leader in the opto-electronics research field, and he certainly deserves these recognitions from IEEE and the Department of Defense.”

Temkin received the IEEE Aron Kressel LEOS Award for outstanding contributions and leadership in advancing opto-electronic materials and devices – the science of light-emitting device creation. His work with light-emitting and detecting devices has enabled all colors within the rainbow to be produced with light-emitting devices, specifically light-emitting diodes (LEDs). The Kressel Award recognizes those individuals who have made important contributions to opto-electronic device technologies.

In addition to being a Horn Professor of Electrical Engineering, Temkin also is holder of the Jack Maddox Distinguished Engineer Chair endowed by the Maddox Foundation, as well as a director of the Nano Tech Center.


The Texas Tech College of Engineering has educated engineers to meet the technological needs of Texas, the nation and the world since 1925.

Approximately 3,400 undergraduate and 600 graduate students pursue bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees offered through eight academic departments: civil and environmental, chemical, computer science, electrical and computer, engineering technology, industrial, mechanical, and petroleum.

Read More About the College of Engineering

Photo courtesy Artie Limmer.