Texas Tech University Honors College Students Earn Goldwater Scholarships

Adcock, McCoury among 321 scholars for the 2008-2009 academic year.

Two Texas Tech University Honors College students have been awarded Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships, nationally competitive awards for students pursuing careers in mathematics, the sciences or engineering.

Aaron Adcock of Heath, Ohio, and Jessica McCoury of Albuquerque, N.M., were among the 321 scholars for the 2008-2009 academic year who are selected on the basis of academic merit from a competitive pool of 1,035 university nominees.

The Goldwater Scholarship covers the costs of tuition and fees up to $7,500 for as many as two years. Named for the late senator from Arizona, the Goldwater Scholarship is the premier undergraduate award of its type.

Adcock is a junior double-major in mathematics and electrical engineering. He is involved in research projects in both fields. After obtaining his doctorate, he plans to conduct research in either control theory or electromagnetic fields.

McCoury is a junior cell and molecular biology major. Currently, she is conducting research on sonochemical degradation. After graduating, Jessica plans to obtain a doctorate in cell biology and biochemistry, then hopes participate in international health research and education.

Adcock and McCoury join 30 previous Texas Tech University Goldwater Scholars in their pursuit of academic and research excellence.

CONTACT: Gary Elbow, interim director, The Honors College, Texas Tech University, (806) 742-1828 ext. 245, or gary.elbow@ttu.edu.