Texas Tech Presents Quality Service Awards

Texas Tech honors staff with Quality Service Awards.

Written by: Gretchen Pressley

Texas Tech University honored outstanding staff members today with the 2007 Quality Service Awards during a ceremony at the City Bank Conference Center in the United Spirit Arena.

These annual awards recognize Texas Tech staff members who have gone above and beyond the call of duty in their quest to provide excellent service in support of the university’s mission and vision. This is the eleventh year for the Quality Service Awards program at Texas Tech.

The recipients of the Chancellor’s Award of Excellence are:
Homer Lorenz (Peewee) Roberson, associate director of recreational sports, and David Earl Wilson, senior lead custodian for the Physical Plant.

"This is certainly a deservedly if overdue recognition for a man whose work ethic and dedication to the students, faculty, and staff as they participate in various activities at the
Rec Center is fortified the blood, sweat, and tears so freely given by his big heart and quality services so selflessly rendered by the legend himself, Mr. Peewee Robertson," said Kerry L. Billingsley, managing director of Quality Service & Professional Development.

This is the top award presented each year and each winner receives a cash award, plaque and lapel pin denoting their outstanding service to the university.

"As the senior lead custodian at Jones AT&T Stadium, David Earl Wilson exemplifies what every employee from the Physical Plant’s Custodial Services strives for: Being the best," Billingsley said.

Recipients of the team award are:
Doreteo Sandoval and Edmundo del Hierro who serve as custodians for the College of Education.

Recipients of individual awards are:
Mark Bond, technician in the School of Art; Suevelyn Brewer, supervisor for Outreach and Distance Education; Rosie Carrillo, administrative business assistant of the Department of Economics and Geography; Michael Carter, unit coordinator for Academic Testing Services; Carlos Casarez, section manager for Telecommunications Services; Cindy Dickson, administrative business assistant of the Agriculture and Applied Economics Department; Margaret Durham, advisor in the Psychology Department; Shane Hammontree, lead programmer analyst for the School of Education; Jay McMillen, assistant managing director for the Office of Research Services; Elma Moreno, office manager for the School of Law of Legal Clinics; Larry Phillippe, managing director for Student Disability Services; Peewee Roberson, associate director of recreational sports; Emily Saiz, lead account processor for the Department of Plant and Soil Science; Deborah Simpson, senior office assistant in the Department of Communications Studies; Kathy Smith, assistant registrar for the Office of the Registrar; Colette Solpietro, coordinator for sponsored programs in the Office of Research Services; Norma Tanner, senior business assistant for the School of Law; Matt Thompson, database administrator for T.O.S.M; Beth Trischitti, financial manager in the Department of Architecture; David Earl Wilson, senior lead custodian for the Physical Plant

CONTACT: Chad Covey, unit coordinator in the Department of English, (806) 742-2500 ext. 265 or chad.covey@ttu.edu