Texas Tech Presents Excellence in Diversity and Equity Awards

Texas Tech University honored four members of its faculty, staff and student body Wednesday with 2006-2007 President’s Excellence in Diversity and Equity Awards.

Written by Cory Chandler

Winners were selected from a pool of 15 candidates representing all facets of the university and honored during a reception at the Texas Tech Merket Alumni Center. The awards were presented by Jon Whitmore, president of Texas Tech, and Juan Muñoz, special assistant for institutional diversity.

"It is important for our campus to recognize people who have distinguished themselves in their positions," Muñoz said. "These are people who certainly have done that, but also have been involved in activities that increase the diversity of opinion and conversation on campus that is necessary to prepare students to succeed in today’s increasingly global marketplace."

The Office for Institutional Diversity is a division of the Office of the President.

The following recipients were honored: Aretha Marbley, associate professor in the College of Education, was selected for the Faculty Excellence in Diversity and Equity. Dianne Crowley, senior director in the Office of International Affairs, was selected for the Staff Excellence in Diversity and Equity.  Raymond Baeza and Kristen Jones were selected for the Student Excellence in Diversity and Equity. 

CONTACT:    Rosa Gallegos, senior administrator, Cross-Cultural Academic Advancement Center, Office of the President, Texas Tech University, (806) 742-8682, or rosa.gallegos@ttu.edu