Texas Tech University To Honor Graduates

DATE: May 6, 2006
CONTACT: Scott Slemmons, scott.slemmons@ttu.edu
(806) 742-2136

LUBBOCK ?V U.S. Education Secretary Margaret Spellings and U.S. Sen. John Cornyn will be commencement speakers at graduation exercises May 12 and 13 at Texas Tech University.

Diplomas will be awarded to 2,984 students during commencement ceremonies and for the first time, Texas Tech's Graduate School will hold a separate commencement ceremony at 6 p.m. Friday in the United Spirit Arena, 1701 Indiana Ave. in Lubbock. The featured speaker will be Dr. Shelby D. Hunt, Jerry S. Rawls and Paul Whitfield Horn Professor of Marketing at Texas Tech.

Undergraduate commencement ceremonies will be at 9 a.m. and 1:30 p.m. Saturday (May 13), in the United Spirit Arena. The featured speaker for the morning ceremony will be Spellings and the featured speaker in the afternoon ceremony will be Dr. Donald R. Haragan, interim chancellor of the Texas Tech University System.

The morning ceremony will include students in the Colleges of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources, Education, Human Sciences, Mass Communications and the Jerry S. Rawls College of Business Administration. The afternoon observance includes the Colleges of Architecture, Arts and Sciences, Engineering, Honors and Visual and Performing Arts.

Cornyn will be the featured speaker at the Texas Tech School of Law commencement at 6:30 p.m. Saturday, at the United Spirit Arena. Class speaker will be Brandon Hill of Fort Worth. A reception will follow at the Merket Alumni Center.

Receptions for the colleges will follow their respective ceremonies. Reception locations are: College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources in the atrium area of the Animal Science Building; College of Architecture in the Architecture Gallery; College of Arts and Sciences in the foyer in front of Room 104 in Holden Hall; Jerry S. Rawls College of Business Administration in the Business Administration Building Rotunda; College of Education in the second floor foyer of the Education Building; College of Engineering in the courtyard of the Engineering Center; College of Human Sciences in El Centro lounge; College of Mass Communications in the Merket Alumni Center; and College of Visual and Performing Arts in the foyer of Hemmle Hall.

Outstanding students will carry banners representing their respective colleges. Administrators selected the banner bearers based on all-around achievement.

The banner bearers are: Cody Ryan Beaver, an animal science major from Fluvanna, College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources; Marissa Kathleen Spears, an architecture major from Albuquerque, N. M., College of Architecture; Ashley Marie Cartwright, a mathematics major from Lubbock, College of Arts and Sciences; Jeremy James Neurohr, a management major from Mesquite, the Jerry S. Rawls College of Business Administration; Kristi Lauren King, a multidisciplinary studies major from Dallas, College of Education; Abram Henry Clark IV, an electrical engineering major from Arlington, College of Engineering; Anthony P. Scanio, an international business/marketing major from Temple, at 9 a.m., and Amber Y. Swinford, an English major from Van, at 1:30 p.m., Honors College; Jana Michelle Martin, a family and consumer sciences major from Paradise, College of Human Sciences; Bryan Donald Wendell, a journalism/Spanish major from Plano, College of Mass Communications; and Matthew Allan Cash, a music performance major from Levelland, College of Visual and Performing Arts.

Selected to carry the banner for the Graduate School are Dawndra Ann Meers-Scott from Lubbock, a doctor of philosophy student in family and consumer science education in the College of Human Science.

Also recognized during commencement exercises will be bachelor??s degree candidates with the highest grade-point-averages in their respective colleges.

Highest ranking May graduates for each college are:

„X Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources: Cody Ryan Beaver of Fluvanna.

„X Architecture: Marissa Kathleen Spears of Albuquerque, N.M.

„X Arts and Sciences: Staci Ln Barker, an English major from Granbury; Laura Beth Bergman, a French/history major from Bridge City; Joyce Ruth Dahlbeck, a general studies major from Lubbock; Bobbie Jack Epperson, a political sciences major from Wylie; Nathan Andrew Jahnke, a German major from Houston; Lindsey Michelle Jasbring, a psychology major from Mesquite; Lindsey Anne Roberts, a Spanish major from Garland; Elizabeth JoHanna Walcott, a Spanish/public relations major from Stamford; and Bryan Donald Wendell, a Spanish/journalism major from Plano. Tied in mathematics were Ashley Marie Cartwright of Lubbock and Ryan David Nipp of Amarillo. Tied in biology were Mitchell George Eichhorn of Amarillo and William Farouk Qubty of Corsicana.

„X Business Administration: Jeremy James Neurohr of Mesquite and Alex Anne Agnor of Marshall, both management majors; Tyler Blake Jones of Amarillo and Jonathan Bradley Platt of Richardson, both accounting majors; and Michael James Davis of Arlington and Lyndsey Michelle Yarbrough of Fort Stockton, both marketing majors.

„X Education: Kristi Lauren King of Dallas.

„X Engineering: Abram Henry Clark IV an electrical engineering major from Arlington; Kenneth Alexander Marek, a mechanical engineering major from Cypress; and Justin Dewayne Thompson, a petroleum engineering major from Abilene.

„X Human Sciences: Jana Michelle Martin of Paradise and Erin Elizabeth Brown of White Oak, both family and consumer sciences majors; Julia Christine Henderson of Carrollton, Jessica Angelique Kelly of Seymour and Raleigh Brichelle Phillips of Odessa, all human development and family studies majors; Kristen Elyse Fulton of Katy and Heather Renea Weaver of Godley, both early childhood majors; and Kathleen Annette Joyner, an interior design major from Colleyville.

„X Mass Communications: Bryan Donald Wendell, a journalism/Spanish major from Plano; Elizabeth JoHanna Walcott, a public relations/Spanish major from Stamford; and Christine Marie Canales, a public relations major from Sunray.

„X Visual and Performing Arts: Matthew Allan Cash of Levelland.