Whitfield Horn Fellowships Announced

DATE: April 24, 2006
CONTACT: Scott Slemmons, scott.slemmons@ttu.edu
(806) 742-2136

LUBBOCK – The Texas Tech University Women’s Club has announced the recipients of the Paul Whitfield Horn Fellowships for Women Graduate Students for the 2006-2007 academic year.

The recipients, all of whom are candidates for doctorate degrees, are: Neetu Arora of New Delhi, India (marriage and family therapy); Faith Drew of Phoenix, Ariz. (marriage and family therapy); Tyla Holsomback of Fort Worth (biological sciences); Cheryl Juergens of Bozeman, Mont. (human development and family studies); Bobbi Crill Padgett of Midland (hospitality administration); Caitlin Pause of Midland (human development and family studies); Iris Rivera-Gonzales of Cayey, Puerto Rico (classical and modern languages and literatures); and Nilmini Wijeratne of Kandy, Sri Lanka (chemical engineering).

The Horn Fellowship Endowment was established in 1940 as a tribute to Paul Whitfield Horn, the first president of Texas Technological College by members of the Quarterly Club. The University Women’s Club became co-sponsors of the endowment in 1964 and assumed sole responsibility for it in 2004.

"The fellowships were established in the belief that the woman who reaches her goal will be more likely to fulfill the promise of her ability," said Esther Lichti, chair of the University Women's Club's Horn Fellowship Committee.

Applicants for the fellowships must be women accepted for graduate study and working toward a degree at Texas Tech University. Whenever possible, the fellowship will be given to a woman who has previously earned a master’s degree and is working toward a doctorate.

The following factors are taken into consideration during the awards process: professional achievement and potential for outstanding professional accomplishment; academic ability, demonstrated and potential; character; financial need; and likelihood of completion of degree in a timely manner.

CONTACT: Esther Lichti, chair, Horn Fellowship Committee, University Women's Club, Texas Tech University, (806) 742-4335, or e-mail esther.lichti@ttu.edu.