Date: October 31, 2005
CONTACT: Scott Slemmons,

LUBBOCK – Texas Tech University will announce the recipients of the SBC Endowed Scholarships in the Student Union Building's Soapsuds Room at 4 p.m. Wednesday (Nov. 2).

This is Texas Tech's fourth year to award the SBC scholarships. The SBC Endowed Scholarship Fund is worth $4.3 million.

This year's recipients include:
• Alexis Acosta of Lamesa, a junior majoring in public relations;
• Itoya Akhianyo of Manor, a sophomore majoring in social work;
• Trevor Boucher of Austin, a freshman majoring in geosciences;
• Ross Brown of San Angelo, a sophomore majoring in petroleum engineering;
• Matt Case of Hutto, a sophomore majoring in mechanical engineering;
• Mildrett Casillas of La Feria, a freshman majoring in theater arts;
• Stephanie Cone of Hobbs, N.M., a junior pre-med major;
• Rachelle Davis of Fort Worth, a freshman majoring in pre-professional health;
• Kathryn Fellows of Midland, a junior majoring in marketing;
• Jacquelyn Gonzales of Midland, a freshman majoring in early childhood;
• Joshua Gravens of Clyde, a freshman majoring in political science;
• Christian Guerrero of Carrollton, a junior majoring in biology;
• William Hilliard of Houston, a sophomore majoring in electrical engineering;
• Tiffany Kamuche of Dallas, a sophomore majoring in sociology;
• Scott Kindy of Fritch, a junior majoring in multidisciplinary science;
• Meagan Knight of Kirbyville, a sophomore majoring in pre-communication disorders;
• Matthew Lopez of Harlingen, a junior majoring in electronic media;
• Rosabel Loya of Tulia, a junior pre-med major;
• Lindsay Means of Valentine, a senior majoring in English;
• Felicia Michael of Milan, N.M., a junior majoring in public relations;
• Phebe Moralez of Hale Center, a sophomore pre-med major;
• Nestor Natareno of Katy, a sophomore majoring in petroleum engineering;
• Logan Nauert of Stamford, a junior majoring in biology;
• Kacey Oswalt of Longview, a junior majoring in advertising;
• Kristy Peck of Ingram, a sophomore majoring in biochemistry;
• Cassandra Pesina of Hereford, a pre-med freshman;
• Rosa Phifer of Topeka, Kan., a junior majoring in history;
• David Polanco of San Antonio, a sophomore majoring in biology;
• Marc-Anthony Puente of Hale Center, a freshman majoring in exercise and sport science;
• Natalie Ramsey of Pearland, a junior majoring in history;
• Jesus Rivera of Los Banos, Calif., a junior majoring in management;
• Cliff Ross of Lubbock, a sophomore majoring in economics;
• Lauren Saegert of Lubbock, a junior majoring in architecture;
• Winston Saldivar of San Saba, a sophomore pre-law major;
• Ashley Sciacca of Canyon, a sophomore majoring in restaurant and hotel management;
• Kyndra Selmon of Tahoka, a sophomore pre-law major;
• Ashley Shields of Garland, a sophomore majoring in communication design;
• Karen Sunday of Paducah, a sophomore majoring in English;
• Croix Torrez of Cedar Park, a freshman majoring in pre-physical therapy;
• Cody Vasquez of Van Horn, a freshman majoring in mechanical engineering;
• Monica Williamson of DeSoto, a freshman majoring in philosophy; and
• Brandy Wolfe of Austin, a freshman majoring in business.


CONTACT: Mary Saathoff, senior director of corporations, foundations and scholarships, Office of Institutional Advancement, Texas Tech University, (806) 742-6279, or e-mail