September 29, 2005
CONTACT: Suzanna Cisneros Martinez, suzanna.martinez@ttuhsc.edu

LUBBOCK – The Department of Anesthesiology in the School of Medicine will present the first Distinguished Alumnus Award at 7 a.m. tomorrow (Sept. 30) at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, located at 3601 Fourth St., Room 2B152.

Carl Noe, M.D., a former Texas Tech University Board of Regent, will be honored with this award, as well as inducted into the Department of Anesthesia Hall of Fame.

Noe was appointed by Gov. Ann Richards to the Texas Tech University Board of Regents. He served from 1993 to 1999.

Jon Michael Badgwell, M.D., chairman of the Department of Anesthesiology, said Noe exemplifies all that is good about Texas Tech.

“We are proud to honor him by presenting him with the Distinguished Alumni Award and by inducting him into the Department of Anesthesia Hall of Fame,” Badgwell said. “He has earned these honors, in general, by virtue of a large scope of time and financial contributions to the university but specifically through his steadfast loyalty and devotion to Texas Tech.”

Noe said his time at the Health Sciences Center was invaluable.

“The Health Sciences Center taught me that education doesn’t end when the homework stops, the learning continues for the rest of your life. That’s the lesson that all great universities teach their students,” he said.

Noe completed his doctoral degree at the University of Texas at San Antonio. He completed his internship and residency in anesthesiology at the Health Sciences Center from 1984 to 1987 and in 1989 was a Pain Fellow.

During his tenure at the Health Sciences Center, Noe was named chief resident of the Department of Anesthesiology. He later completed a fellowship at Stanford University in critical care.

He now serves as a Diplomat of the American Board of Anesthesiology, has subspecialty certification in Critical Care Medicine and Pain Medicine and is a fellow in the International Pain Institute. He is the medical director of the Baylor Center for Pain Management in Dallas.

The Anesthesia Hall of Fame was started by Gabor B. Racz, M.D, professor and Chairman Emeritus of the Department of Anesthesiology, in 1986.

“Dr. Noe has brought widespread national and international recognition to the Health Sciences Center through his work in pain management. More importantly, he never forgets to give praise and recognition to the university that trained him. He is truly a star in his chosen field here at Texas Tech,” Badgwell said.