Date: March 25, 2005
CONTACT: Scott Slemmons, scott.slemmons@ttu.edu


LUBBOCK – Texas Tech University’s College of Engineering will name four Texas Tech graduates as Distinguished Engineers at a ceremony April 1.

The honorees are J. Gregory Boyd of Dallas, Francisco (Frank) A. Figueroa of Albuquerque, N.M., Gerald C. Murff of Fort Worth and Alvin Dale Williams of Amarillo. Phillip Nathan Beverly, a senior from Arlington, also will receive a special award.

Boyd is the president of Jones and Boyd, Inc., a firm providing civil engineering, planning, landscape architecture and surveying services. He is a member of Texas Tech’s Academy of Civil Engineering and former chairman of the Civil Engineering Advisory Council.

Figueroa earned his bachelor's degree in electrical engineering in 1967. He is the chief financial officer and vice president of the Integrated Enabling Services Strategic Management Unit and Business Management and Facilities Services for Sandia National Laboratories. Figueroa was inducted into the Texas Tech Academy of Electrical Engineering in 2004.

Murff earned his bachelor's degree in mechanical engineering in 1961. In the 1970s, he was the lead engineer for internal configuration arrangement during the development of the F-16 Fighting Falcon, one of the most successful military airplanes in history. He currently is retired from his positions as chief engineer and leader of advanced aerospace projects at General Dynamics.

Williams earned his bachelor’s degree in engineering technology in 1975. He is the director of coal and gas power plants at Xcel Energy in Amarillo. He has served on the Texas Tech Engineering Technology Department's advisory council, the Texas Tech Engineering Deans Council, the Texas Tech Mentor Program and the National Science Foundation Education Advisory Council.

The College of Engineering and the Dean’s Council will award Beverly the James A. “Jim” McAuley Distinguished Engineering Student Award in the amount of $5,000. McAuley was a member of the Dean’s Council as well as an educator, a local businessman and a supporter of Texas Tech prior to his death in August 2000.

Beverly is an electrical engineering senior and has been involved in semiconductor research involving molecular beam projects at Texas Tech's Nano Tech Center. Beverly is the lead designer for the Texas Tech student team entered in a Microelectromechanical System (MEMS) design competition sponsored by Sandia National Laboratory’s University Alliance Program. He also is a member of Eta Kappa Nu, the honors society of electrical engineering.

The ceremony is scheduled for 11:45 a.m. Friday (April 1). The luncheon for the award recipients is scheduled at the McInturff Conference Center, located at University Medical Center.


SOURCE: Claudia Thornton, assistant development officer, College of Engineering, Texas Tech University, (806) 742-3451 or claudia.thornton@ttu.edu.